Nissan 5770 / March 2010
I. General Information
Each individual label should always be checked for pesach certification.Consumers are cautioned not to take for granted that a product is Kosher for Pesach simply because it is in the Kosher for Pesach section of their store, or because a "Kosher for Pesach" sign is posted. Each year there are numerous instances, even in Jewish stores, of non-Pesach products mistakenly being mixed in with Pesach products, usually because their labels are almost identical. This occurs frequently with Telma soup mixes and cubes, Osem, Gefen, Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and other brands of products that have both Pesach and non-Pesach versions of the same products with similar labels.
Storekeepers, likewise, should not take for granted that everything received in their Pesach shipment, even from a Jewish distributor, is indeed Pesach certified; non-Pesach products are frequently inadvertently mixed in. There have also been instances where the outsides of cases were marked Kosher for Pesach, but the products inside were not. Each individual label must always be checked for Pesach certification.
Kitniyos (legumes) such as corn, beans, peas and rice, may not be eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. Sefardim who use these products must ascertain that they contain no additives (such as vitamins), and must carefully check them before Pesach for extraneous matter. There are a number of “Kosher for Pesach” products on the market that contain kitniyos, and are acceptable only for Sephardim. Many of these products will state on the label (often in Hebrew) that the item is to be used only by those whose custom allows for the use of kitniyos.
Kitniyos Derivatives - Those who follow the prevalent custom of not using any derivatives of kitniyos (legumes) on Pesach, such as corn oil, corn syrup, dextrose, soybean oil and lecithin, should be aware that some products with Kosher for Pesach certifications do contain one or more of these ingredients. This applies especially to imported candies and chocolates. A careful check of the ingredients should be made. (Lecithin is sometimes listed just as “emulsifier”, and corn syrup as “glucose”.)
Egg and Grape Matzoh - Matzoh made with fruit juice or eggs, which includes “Kosher for Passover” Egg Matzohs, Egg Matzoh Crackers, White Grape Matzoh, White Grape Bite-Size Matzoh Crackers, and some varieties of Passover Tam Tam Crackers, may not be eaten on Pesach, according to Ashkenazic practice, except by the sick or elderly who cannot eat regular matzoh. Most brands now state this restriction clearly in English on the package. Please note that even the sick and elderly cannot fulfill the obligation to eat matzoh at the Seder with these types of matzohs.
Frozen Vegetables require special Pesach certification because many frozen vegetable plants process pasta, macaroni, breaded vegetables, etc. on the same equipment as plain vegetables.
Pesach Stickers: If a product bears Pesach certification on an attached sticker, rather than being printed on the label itself, it is advisable to contact the supervising agency to verify that it authorized the placement of the sticker.
Pet Food: Many commercial pet foods contain actual chometz and may not be used on Pesach. Check ingredient labels for wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt, flour, gluten, middlings, starch, brewer’s yeast, malt, or pasta. Non-chometz substitutes should be used. Pet food listing both milk and beef ingredients should not be used the entire year.
A partial listing of Kitniyos
||Dextrose (outside U.S. may be chometz)
II. The following products may be used for pesach without special kosher for pesach certification (except where noted otherwise)
A new box, can or jar should be used where an old one may have come into contact with chometz.
This is a very partial list, for Pesach 5770 / 2010 only. The omission of any specific brand or product does not necessarily imply that it contains chometz or that it is not permissible for use on Pesach. - This list refers only to products manufactured in the U.S. Products manufactured in other countries, including Canada, even with the same brand names, may have different formulations. - Most of the medications, cosmetics and toiletries listed are not under supervision and their listing here, taken from Rabbi Bess’ list and based on information from the manufacturer, pertains only to their lack of chometz, not to the general Kashrus of their ingredients. Many of the medications contain kitniyos, which is permissible when taken for medicinal purposes.
An extensive coverage of medications, cosmetics and toiletries which are Kosher for Pesach, prepared by Rabbi Gershon Bess, is available from the Kollel Bais Avrohom of Los Angeles, and may be ordered by calling the Kollel at (323) 933-7193. It is also available at Borenstein’s and Spitzer’s Bookstores.
- Aluminum Foil
- Analgesics: Aspirin (Rugby brand), Motrin (all forms, adult & child), Tylenol (all forms, adult & child).
- Antacids: Bromo-Seltzer, Di-Gel tablets, Mylanta liquid and tablets, Pepcid tablets, Zantac.
- Baby Formula: Enfamil, Isomil, Prosobee, Simalac. All contain kitniyos. Separate utensils should be used, and they should not be washed in a Pesach sink.
- Baby Wipes without alcohol.
- Baking Soda
- Cleansers: Ajax, Clorox, Comet, Mr. Clean, Murphy Oil.
- Cocoa: Hershey 100% pure Cocoa.
- Coffee, ground & instant (unflavored):
- Regular and decaffeinated: The following brands with an OK-P on the label - Maxwell House, Sanka, Yuban.
- Regular only (not decaffeinated): The following brands with a plain OU: Folgers, Taster’s Choice.
- Contact Lens Fluid
- Cough Syrups: Coricidin, Hycotuss.
- Dental Floss: Any unflavored.
- Deoderant: Dry Idea, Gillette, Old Spice, Right Guard, Secret, Soft & Dri, Sure.
- Detergent: Any powder with an OU. Liquids: Cheer, Dreft, Dynamo, Fab, Ivory Snow, Tide.
- Dishwashing Liquid: Ajax, Dawn, Ivory, Joy, Palmolive.
- Disposable Plates: Pure plastic plates, Styrofoam; Chinet with OK-P.
- Eggs: should be purchased before Pesach.
- Fabric Softener
- Fish, Frozen Raw (plain): Benz’s, Dagim, Ungar’s. - See also Part III. [Frozen fish need to be investigated for Pesach to determine if chometz products are processed in the area, or if a corn starch / corn syrup glaze is used.]
- Fruit, Frozen: Plain frozen unsweetened fruit, with no syrup and no additives listed.
- Glue: Elmer’s Glue-All multi-purpose glue, Elmer’s All Purpose Glue Stick. (Not Elmer’s Washable School Paste or No Wrinkle Glue Pens).
- Ice (in bags): from plain water (any brand).
- Juice: Frozen concentrated unsweetened orange juice and grapefruit juice with no additives listed.
- Lemon Juice: ReaLemon with OU.
- Lime Juice: ReaLime with OU.
- Cover Girl: Continuous Color, Outlast;
- Max Factor: Colour Perfection, Lipfinity;
- Revlon: Colorstay Overtime, Moon Drops Moisture Crème, Moon Drops Moisture Frost (not Ultima Ultimate Edition);
- and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
- Mineral Oil
- Mouthwash: Listerine, Scope, Tom’s of Maine.
- Nuts: Commercially packaged raw almonds, filberts or walnuts (shelled or unshelled) without any additives or preservatives (such as BHA or BHT). NOTE: Pecans, even raw, require Pesach certification.
- Olive Oil: Bertolli, Colavita and Filippo Berio brands of Extra Virgin with OU, Pompeian Extra Virgin with Star-K, and other brands listed in OU and Star-K Pesach directories.
- Oven Cleaners: Dow, Easy Off, Shaklee.
- Perfume: Chanel Allure, Charlie, Gucci, Ralph Lauren, and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
- Plastic Wrap And Bags
- Raisins: Del Monte (natural and golden), Dole.
- Salt: Any non-iodized OU brand not listing dextrose or polysorbate.
- Scouring Pads: O-Cel-O Sponges, Scotch Brite, and any plain steel wool.
- Shampoo: Head and Shoulders, Johnson’s Baby Shampoo (regular and Lavender), Revlon Flex, Selsun Blue Lotion.
- Shoe Polish
- Silver Polish: Hagerty, Weiman Royal Sterling, Wrights.
- Soy Milk: The following brands contain no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who are permitted by their Rav to eat Kitniyos; they should preferably be purchased before Pesach: Soy Dream Original un-enriched Soy Milk, and Vitasoy San Sui Original Natural Soy Milk.
- Spray Starch: Niagara, Linit.
- Sugar: Big Chief and Pioneer white granulated sugar with the K-COR symbol (no P required), Domino with OK-P.
- Instant - Nestea unflavored 100% Tea, regular and decaffeinated (unflavored, unsweetened).
- Tea Bags - Regular tea bags that are unflavored and not decaffeinated, and have no additives, may be used for Pesach without special certification. Lipton unflavored Decaffeinated Tea Bags may be used for Pesach without special certification.
- Toothpaste: Aquafresh, Colgate, Gleem, Sensodyne, Ultrabrite.
- Water: Any unflavored, spring or distilled.
III. Product alerts
Israeli Peppers (red, yellow, orange) are now being sold at local stores (including Fruitasia), and require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. Mangos, Clementines and Persimmons from Israel are also being sold in the U.S. Check the label or sticker of all produce for the country of origin.
Faygo Original Sparkling Water, with a KP in the beginning of the code on the shoulder of the bottle, is certified for Pesach by the Council of Orthodox Rabbis of Greater Detroit.
Pepsi-Cola sold locally with a KP on the cap is reliably Kosher for Pesach when the 5th and 6th digits of the code on the shoulder of the bottle are the letters PY.
Fresh Fish for Pesach will be available at One Stop and Farm Fresh. Call the stores for details and orders. Supervision at Farm Fresh is only when the Mashgiach is present, or when the package is sealed with the COR emblem.
Customized Kosher Poultry (CKP), Hudson, MI, is now under supervision of the Council of Orthodox Rabbis and is Kosher for Pesach.
Harvard Row prepared foods are not Kosher for Pesach.
Pre-Washed Packaged Iceberg Lettuce Salad and Coleslaw require Pesach approval due to the citric acid that may be used in the washing process. However, Dole and River Ranch brands bearing a Star-K are approved for Pesach even without a P, except for Dole Very Veggie blend which contains peas.
C. Wirthy & Co. Atlantic Salmon Frozen Fillets (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing a Kof-K (sold at Sam’s Club), is Kosher for Pesach.
Kirkland Signature Atlantic Salmon Frozen Portions and Fillets bearing an OU (sold at Costco), are Kosher for Pesach.
Fishin Brand Salmon Frozen Fillets bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach.
Joyva Products are under Kof-K certification for year-round use, but not for Pesach, because they contain cornstarch and corn syrup. They are therefore not recommended for Pesach even when bearing a Passover marking.
Schmerling's Sugarless and No Sugar Added Chocolates are not Kosher for Pesach, and state so on their labels.
Elite Chocolates are recommended only when bearing the certification of the OU or the Badatz of the Eda Hacharedis. For Pesach, special Pesach marking is required.
Lieber's Chocolate Coins mistakenly have Kosher for Pesach engraved on some foil wrappers. No Lieber's Chocolate Coins are certified for Pesach. (Information published to the contrary was incorrect.)
Streit’s Products produced for the 2010 Pesach season are certified by the Kof-K, even if the Kof-K does not appear on the label. (Some Streit’s products state “Passover 2010” on the plastic overwrap.)
Sugat and Orzil Brands of beans, peas, rice and seeds are kitniyos, which are not eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. The Pesach certification on some of these products is only for Sefardim.
“Play-Doh” contains chometz.
Combat Roach Control System, Black Flag Roach Ender and D-Con Mouse & Rat Baits contain a chometz bait and should be put away and sold with the chometz. Raid Ant & Roach Baits contain a non-chometz bait and may be used on Pesach. All insecticide sprays may be used.
Eli's Cheesecake products manufactured during Pesach will not bear the cRc logo on the package and are not certified by the cRc. Consumers should beware of packaging not bearing the cRc logo when purchasing after Pesach.
Chazzano Coffee Ebraica products with K-COR are Kosher for Pesach – caffeinated and decaffeinated.
Post-Pesach 5770 information – Detroit Area
CHOMETZ may be purchased from the following stores immediately after Pesach, except for DUNKIN’ DONUTS at 10 Mile & Greenfield, where chometz should not be bought until 10:20 PM on Motzoei Pesach.
All COR certified establishments
Family Dollar Stores
GFS (Gordon Food Service)
One Stop Kosher Market
Save-A-Lot 11 & Greenfield and 9 & Woodward
Sam’s Club Warehouse
Please consult your Rav concerning buying chometz after Pesach from Jewish owned stores that do not observe Pesach.
Back to Top