Compiled and edited by Rabbi Beryl Broyde, Kashrus Coordinator
I. GENERAL INFORMATION
EACH INDIVIDUAL LABEL SHOULD ALWAYS BE CHECKED FOR PESACH CERTIFICATION.
Consumers are cautioned not to take for granted that a product is Kosher for Pesach simply because it is in the Kosher
for Pesach section of their store, or because a "Kosher for Pesach" sign is posted. Each year there are numerous
instances, even in Jewish stores, of non-Pesach products mistakenly being mixed in with Pesach products, usually
because their labels are almost identical. This occurs frequently with Telma soup mixes and cubes, Osem, Gefen,
Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and other brands of products that have both Pesach and non-Pesach versions of the
same products with similar labels.
Storekeepers, likewise, should not take for granted that everything received in their Pesach shipment, even from a Jewish
distributor, is indeed Pesach certified; non-Pesach products are frequently inadvertently mixed in. There have also been
instances where the outsides of cases were marked Kosher for Pesach, but the products inside were not. Each individual
label must always be checked for Pesach certification.
: Some brands, e.g. Osem, do not bear the same certification on all of their products. Each
product should be checked for a reliable certification. - In addition, some brands, especially those from Israel, bear more
than one certification on a single package, but not all those certifications include approval for Pesach. In particular, the
Badatz of Eida Hachareidis symbol often states specifically that its endorsement does not include Pesach. All products should
be carefully examined for a reliable Pesach endorsement.
(legumes) such as corn, beans, peas and rice, may not be eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. Sefardim who
use these products must ascertain that they contain no additives (such as vitamins), and must carefully check them before
Pesach for extraneous matter. There are a number of “Kosher for Pesach” products on the market that contain kitniyos,
and are acceptable only for Sephardim. Many of these products will state on the label (often in Hebrew) that the item is to
be used only by those whose custom allows for the use of kitniyos.
is subject to differing opinions as to whether it is considered kitniyos; consult your Rav. Those who do use
quinoa should use only whole grains of quinoa, not quinoa flour, and only from sources that have been investigated and
approved for Pesach, to avoid the issues of other grains growing in the same proximity and of being processed in a plant
that processes other grains. In addition, the quinoa must be carefully inspected by hand before Pesach. This is done by
spreading one layer of quinoa at a time on a board or plate and checking that there are no other grains or foreign matter
mixed in. - The cRc of Chicago has approved the following sources: Ancient Harvest and Trader Joe’s brands, and Sugat
brand from Israel.
- Those who follow the prevalent custom of not using any derivatives of kitniyos (legumes) on
Pesach, such as corn oil, corn syrup, dextrose, soybean oil and lecithin, should be aware that some products with Kosher
for Pesach certifications do contain one or more of these ingredients. This applies especially to imported candies and
chocolates. A careful check of the ingredients should be made. (Lecithin is sometimes listed just as “emulsifier”, and corn
syrup as “glucose”.)
EGG and GRAPE MATZOH
- Matzoh made with fruit juice or eggs, which includes “Kosher for Passover” Egg Matzohs,
Egg Matzoh Crackers, White Grape Matzoh, White Grape Bite-Size Matzoh Crackers, and some varieties of Passover
Tam Tam Crackers, may not be eaten on Pesach, according to Ashkenazic practice, except by the sick or elderly who
cannot eat regular matzoh. Most brands now state this restriction clearly in English on the package. [However, SHIBOLIM
egg matzoh (OU-P) mistakenly does not yet bear this advisory on some packages.]. - Please note that even the sick and
elderly cannot fulfill the obligation to eat matzoh at the Seder with these types of matzohs.
PEELED OR SHREDDED VEGETABLES
& FRUIT - Peeled potatoes, peeled carrots (including baby carrots), peeled
apples, shredded lettuce or cabbage, etc. are often treated with antioxidants to keep them looking fresh. We have found
that many of these antioxidants, in particular the nonsulfite types, contain ingredients that may not be Kosher for Pesach,
such as dextrose, citric acid, ascorbic acid, lactic acid and others. One type also contains lactose, a dairy ingredient. The
produce company should be contacted to determine the antioxidant used and its Kashrus status.
require special Pesach certification because many frozen vegetable plants process pasta,
macaroni, breaded vegetables, etc. on the same equipment as plain vegetables.
: If a product bears Pesach certification on an attached sticker, rather than being printed on the
label itself, it is advisable to contact the supervising agency to verify that it authorized the placement of the sticker.
: Many commercial pet foods contain actual chometz and may not be used on Pesach. Check ingredient
labels for wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt, flour, gluten, middlings, starch, brewer’s yeast, malt, or pasta. Non-chometz
substitutes should be used. Pet food listing both milk and beef ingredients should not be used the entire year.
MEDICATIONS ON PESACH
: Important - No one should refrain from taking any required medication even if it
contains chometz, without first consulting his physician and Rav.
Note: All medications for a heart condition, diabetes, abnormal blood pressure, stroke, kidney disease, lung
disease, depression, epilepsy, the immune system (transplant anti-rejection), and cancer treatment (including
precautionary) may be taken on Pesach. Furthermore, all prescription medication taken on a regular basis for
chronic conditions should only be changed with the consultation of your physician (if you can not reach your
physician you should continue to take your regular prescription and not change). Some examples of such
chronic conditions include the following: Any psychiatric condition, prostate condition, Crohn’s Disease, celiac,
colitis, high cholesterol, Parkinson’s Disease, anemia, multiple sclerosis, thyroid condition, and asthma.
A partial listing of Kitniyos
||Cumin (differing customs)
||Dextrose (outside U.S. may be chometz)
II. THE FOLLOWING PRODUCTS MAY BE USED FOR PESACH WITHOUT SPECIAL KOSHER FOR PESACH CERTIFICATION (except where noted otherwise).
A new box, can or jar should be used where an old one may have come into contact with chometz.
This is a very partial list, for Pesach 5771 / 2011 only. The omission of any specific brand or product does not necessarily imply that it
contains chometz or that it is not permissible for use on Pesach. - This list refers only to products manufactured in the U.S. Products
manufactured in other countries, including Canada, even with the same brand names, may have different formulations. - Most of the
medications, cosmetics and toiletries listed are not under supervision and their listing here, taken primarily from Rabbi Bess’ list and
based on information from the manufacturer, pertains only to their lack of chometz, not to the general Kashrus of their ingredients.
Many of the medications contain kitniyos, which is permissible when taken for medicinal purposes. – Many items are available from
Adwe Products with Kosher for Pesach certification, and are free of chometz, kitniyos and animal derivatives.
An extensive coverage of medications, cosmetics and toiletries which are accepable for Pesach, prepared by Rabbi Gershon
Bess, is available from the Kollel Bais Avrohom of Los Angeles, and may be ordered by calling the Kollel at (323) 933-7193. It is also
available locally at Borenstein’s and Spitzer’s Bookstores.
: Bayer Adult and Children’s Aspirin (all forms), Motrin tablets & capsules (made in U.S.), Tylenol tablets &
capsules (made in U.S.), Triaminic Fever Reducer Children's Syrup (acetaminophen) in grape and bubble gum flavors
with an OU. (The Triaminic Infants’ Drops is not OU certified, and its Pesach status is unknown.)
: Bromo-Seltzer, Di-Gel tablets, Pepcid tablets, Zantac.
ANTI-DIARRHEALS, LAXATIVES, etc.
: Pepto Bismol (all forms), Colace capsules and syrup, Metamucil (except wafers).
→ IMPORTANT NOTE: “Resource Benefiber”, which is listed on page 103 of the OU Pesach Guide as acceptable for
those who are ill, refers only to a special institutional Benefiber product produced by Nestle Nutrition from guar gum,
which is available by special order. The regular retail Benefiber product, produced by Novartis, is made from wheat dextrin
and is chometz.
: “Gerber 2nd Foods” in 4 oz. glass jars of Carrots, Squash, Green Beans (kitniyos) and Peas (kitniyos),
bearing a plain OU (no P required). Separate utensils should be used for the kitniyos varieties, and they should not be
washed in a Pesach sink.
: Enfamil, Isomil, Prosobee, Simalac. All contain kitniyos. Separate utensils should be used, and they
should not be washed in a Pesach sink.
: Ajax, Clorox, Comet, Mr. Clean, Murphy Oil.
: Hershey 100% pure Cocoa.
COFFEE, GROUND & INSTANT (unflavored)
Regular and decaffeinated: The following brands with an OK-P on the label - Maxwell House, Sanka, Yuban.
Regular only (not decaffeinated): The following brands with a plain OU: Folgers, Taster’s Choice.
CONTACT LENS FLUID
: Coricidin, Hycotuss
: Any unflavored, waxed or unwaxed.
DEODERANT (including roll-ons and sprays)
: Dry Idea, Old Spice, Right Guard, Secret, Soft & Dri, Sure.
: Any powder with an OU. Liquids: Cheer, Dreft, Dynamo, Fab, Ivory Snow, Tide.
: Ajax, Dawn, Ivory, Joy, Palmolive.
: should be purchased before Pesach.
FISH, FROZEN RAW (plain)
: Benz’s, Dagim, Ungar’s. - See also Part III. [Frozen fish need to be investigated for Pesach
to determine if chometz products are processed in the area, or if a corn starch / corn syrup glaze is used.]
: Plain frozen unsweetened fruit, with no syrup and no additives listed.
: Elmer’s Glue-All multi-purpose glue, Elmer’s All Purpose Glue Stick. (Not Elmer’s Washable School Paste or No
Wrinkle Glue Pens).
ICE (in bags)
: from plain water (any brand).
: Frozen concentrated unsweetened orange juice and grapefruit juice with no additives listed.
: ReaLemon with OU.
: ReaLime with OU.
: Cover Girl: Continuous Color, Outlast; Max Factor: Colour Perfection, Lipfinity; Revlon: Colorstay Overtime, Moon
Drops Moisture Crème, Moon Drops Moisture Frost (not Ultima Ultimate Edition); and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
: Listerine, Scope, Tom’s of Maine.
NAIL POLISH, NAIL POLISH REMOVER
: Commercially packaged raw almonds, filberts or walnuts (shelled or unshelled) without any additives or
preservatives (such as BHA or BHT). NOTE: Pecans, even raw, require Pesach certification.
: Bertolli, Colavita and Filippo Berio brands of Extra Virgin with OU, Pompeian Extra Virgin with Star-K, and
other brands listed in OU and Star-K Pesach directories.
: Dow, Easy Off, Shaklee.
: Chanel Allure, Charlie, Gucci, Ralph Lauren, and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
PLASTIC WRAP AND BAGS
PLATES & CUPS, DISPOSABLE
: Pure plastic or styrofoam plates and cups; Chinet with OK-P. 4
: Del Monte (natural and golden), Dole.
: The following OU brands contain no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who are permitted by
their Rav to eat Kitniyos; they should preferably be purchased before Pesach: Clearly Organic, Full Circle, Harris Teeter,
Hy-Vee, Meijer, Nature’s Place, Shop Rite.
: Any non-iodized OU brand not listing dextrose or polysorbate.
: O-Cel-O Sponges, Scotch Brite, and any plain steel wool.
: Head and Shoulders, Johnson’s Baby Shampoo, Revlon Flex, Selsun Blue Lotion.
: Hagerty, Weiman Royal Sterling, Wrights.
: The following brand contains no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who are permitted by their
Rav to eat Kitniyos; it should preferably be purchased before Pesach: Soy Dream Original un-enriched and unflavored
: Niagara, Linit
: Big Chief, Pioneer and Peninsular brands of white granulated sugar with the K-COR symbol (no P required),
Domino with OK-P.
- Nestea unflavored 100% Tea, regular and decaffeinated (unflavored, unsweetened).
TEA BAGS - Regular tea bags that are unflavored and not decaffeinated, and have no additives, may be used for
Pesach without special certification. Lipton unflavored Decaffeinated Tea Bags may be used for Pesach without special
: Aquafresh, Colgate, Gleem, Ultrabrite.
: Any unflavored, spring or distilled.
: Cut-Rite, Marcal, Reynolds.
III. PRODUCT ALERTS
ISRAELI PEPPERS (red, yellow, orange)
are now being sold at local stores and require taking of Terumos and Maaseros.
TOMATOS, ORANGES, MANGOS, CLEMENTINES and PERSIMMONS
from Israel are also being sold in the U.S. Check the label or sticker of all produce for the country of origin.
FAYGO ORIGINAL SPARKLING WATER
, with a KP in the beginning of the code on the shoulder of the bottle, is certified for Pesach by the Council of Orthodox Rabbis of Greater Detroit.
FRESH FISH FOR PESACH
will be available at One Stop and Farm Fresh. Call the stores for details and orders. Supervision at Farm Fresh is only when the Mashgiach is present, or when the package is sealed with the Mashgiach’s Hebrew initials or the COR emblem.
CHAZZANO COFFEE EBRAICA
products with K-COR are Kosher for Pesach – caffeinated and decaffeinated.
prepared foods are not Kosher for Pesach.
PRE-WASHED PACKAGED ICEBERG LETTUCE SALAD and COLESLAW
require Pesach approval due to the citric or lactic acid that may be used in the washing process. However, Dole and River Ranch brands bearing a Star-K are approved for Pesach, even without a P. - Please note that FRESH EXPRESS bagged salads must bear a Star-K P to be considered Kosher for Pesach.
C. WIRTHY & CO. ATLANTIC SALMON FROZEN FILLETS (plain unseasoned, raw)
bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach. (We do not have any Pesach information regarding the C. Wirthy product from Norway.)
KIRKLAND SIGNATURE ATLANTIC SALMON FROZEN PORTIONS and FILLETS
bearing an OU are Kosher for Pesach.
FISHIN brand SALMON FROZEN FILLETS
bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach.
produced in the U.S. and Canada are certified by the Kof-K, even if the Kof-K does not appear on the label.
are Kof-K certified for year-round use, but not for Pesach, because they contain cornstarch and corn syrup. They are therefore not recommended for Pesach, even when bearing a Passover marking.
SCHMERLING'S SUGARLESS AND NO SUGAR ADDED CHOCOLATES
are not Kosher for Pesach, and state so on their labels.
NATURAL & KOSHER
brand cheeses are not all Kosher for Pesach. Check each package for Pesach certification.
: World Cheese Co. has issued a notice that the following new types of Haolam cheeses, in all shapes and sizes, are not Kosher for Pesach, as they state clearly on their packaging: Horseradish Golden Jack Cheese, Olive Jack Cheese, Pepper Jack Cheese, Pizza Flavored Jack Cheese and Tomato Basil Jack Cheese.
are recommended only when bearing the certification of the OU or the Badatz of Eida Hacharedis. For Pesach, special Pesach marking is required.
SUGAT and ORZIL BRANDS of beans, peas, rice and seeds
, sold in the Pesach section at Farm Fresh, are kitniyos, which are not eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. The Badatz of Eida Hacharedis symbol on the label therefore states that its certification is not for Pesach. The Pesach certification that is on some of these products, from a different agency, is only for Sefardim.
products manufactured during Pesach will not bear the cRc logo on the package and are not certified by the cRc. Consumers should beware of packaging not bearing the cRc logo when purchasing after Pesach.
KING STAR FOODS CHICKEN FLAVOR SOUP and ONION SOUP
from Israel bear an unauthorized OU-P sticker. These products are not certified for Pesach by the OU.
AQUA FARMS PREMIUM ATLANTIC SALMON
from Good Food S.A., Santiago, Chile was included in the OU Pesach Guide as acceptable for Pesach without special certification. The salmon itself is acceptable for Pesach. However, the enclosed salmon seasoning packet contains kitniyot and should not be used on Pesach.
BODEK FROZEN SLICED PEACHES
which do not bear Pesach marking on their individual 1 lb. bags are not approved for Pesach, even if their outer case mistakenly states Kosher for Pesach.
UNGER'S PEPPERS and PICKLE CHIPS
, certified by the Star-K, were mistakenly mislabeled last year stating that they may be used for Pesach. Some old product may still be on shelves. The vinegar is kitniyos and the products are not approved for Pesach.
POST-PESACH 5771 INFORMATION – DETROIT AREA
may be purchased from the following stores immediately after Pesach, except for DUNKIN’ DONUTS
at 10 Mile & Greenfield, where chometz should not be bought until 10:40 PM
on Motzoei Pesach.
|All COR certified establishments
||One Stop Kosher Market
||Save-A-Lot 11 & Greenfield and 9 & Woodward
|Family Dollar Stores
||Sam’s Club Warehouse
|GFS (Gordon Food Service)
Please consult your Rav concerning buying chometz after Pesach from Jewish owned stores that do not observe Pesach.