I. GENERAL INFORMATION
EACH INDIVIDUAL LABEL SHOULD ALWAYS BE CHECKED FOR PESACH CERTIFICATION.
Consumers are cautioned not to take for granted that a product is Kosher for Pesach simply because it is in the Kosher for Pesach section of their store, or because a "Kosher for Pesach" sign is posted. Each year there are numerous instances, even in Jewish stores, of non-Pesach products mistakenly being mixed in with Pesach products, usually because their labels are almost identical. This occurs frequently with Telma soup mixes and cubes, Lieber’s Coat ‘n Bake coatings, various brands of frozen chopped liver and kishke, and Osem, Gefen, Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and other brands of products that have both Pesach and non-Pesach versions of the same products with similar labels.
Storekeepers, likewise, should not take for granted that everything received in their Pesach shipment, even from a Jewish distributor, is indeed Pesach certified; non-Pesach products are frequently inadvertently mixed in. There have also been instances where the outsides of cases were marked Kosher for Pesach, but the products inside were not. Each individual label must always be checked for Pesach certification.
MULTIPLE CERTIFICATIONS: Some brands, e.g. Osem, do not bear the same certification on all of their products. Each product should be checked for a reliable certification. - In addition, some brands, especially those from Israel, bear more than one certification on a single package, but not all those certifications include approval for Pesach. In particular, the Badatz of Eida Hachareidis symbol often states specifically that its endorsement does not include Pesach. All products should be carefully examined for a reliable Pesach endorsement.
KITNIYOS (legumes) such as corn, beans, peas and rice, may not be eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. Sefardim who use these products must ascertain that they contain no additives (such as vitamins), and must carefully check them before Pesach for extraneous matter. There are a number of “Kosher for Pesach” products on the market that contain kitniyos, and are acceptable only for Sephardim. Many of these products will state on the label (often in Hebrew) that the item is to be used only by those whose custom allows for the use of kitniyos. This year the OU and the Star-K have introduced special Pesach certification symbols for products containing kitniyos (“OU Kitniyot”, as on Osem Bamba snack, and
Star-S-P, as on Carolina rice), for those who eat kitniyos.
KITNIYOS DERIVATIVES - Those who follow the prevalent custom of not using any derivatives of kitniyos (legumes) on Pesach, such as corn oil, corn syrup, dextrose, soybean oil and lecithin, should be aware that some products with Kosher for Pesach certifications do contain one or more of these ingredients. This applies especially to imported candies and chocolates. A careful check of the ingredients should be made. (Lecithin is sometimes listed just as “emulsifier”, and corn syrup as “glucose”.)
QUINOA is subject to differing opinions as to whether it is considered kitniyos; consult your Rav. Those who do use quinoa should use only whole grains of quinoa, not quinoa flour, and only from sources that have been investigated and approved for Pesach, to avoid the issues of other grains growing in the same proximity, and contacting other grains during processing. The Star-K has approved the following brands this year, only when bearing the Star-K symbol and stating “Kosher for Passover”: Ancient Harvest brand (12 oz. boxes), Setton Farms (12 oz. containers), and Natural Earth Products (16 oz. boxes).
EGG MATZOH - Matzoh made with fruit juice or eggs, which includes “Kosher for Passover” Egg Matzohs, Egg Matzoh Crackers and Passover Tam Tam Crackers, may not be eaten on Pesach, according to Ashkenazic practice, except by the sick or elderly who cannot eat regular matzoh. Most brands now state this restriction clearly in English on the package. Please note that even the sick and elderly cannot fulfill the obligation to eat matzoh at the Seder with these types of matzohs.
PEELED OR SHREDDED VEGETABLES & FRUIT - Peeled potatoes, peeled carrots (including baby carrots), peeled apples, shredded lettuce or cabbage, etc. are often treated with antioxidants to keep them looking fresh. We have found that many of these antioxidants, in particular the nonsulfite types, contain ingredients that may not be Kosher for Pesach, such as dextrose, citric acid, ascorbic acid, lactic acid and others. One unusual type that was found on peeled potatoes also contained lactose, a dairy ingredient. The produce company should be contacted to determine the antioxidant used
and its Kashrus status.
FROZEN VEGETABLES require special Pesach certification because many frozen vegetable plants process pasta, macaroni, breaded vegetables, etc. on the same equipment as plain vegetables.
PESACH STICKERS: If a product bears Pesach certification on an attached sticker, rather than being printed on the label itself, it is advisable to contact the supervising agency to verify that it authorized the placement of the sticker.
PET FOOD: Many commercial pet foods contain actual chometz and may not be used on Pesach. Check ingredient labels for wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt, flour, gluten, middlings, starch, brewer’s yeast, malt, or pasta. Non-chometz substitutes should be used. Pet food listing both milk and beef ingredients should not be used the entire year.
MEDICATIONS ON PESACH: Important - No one should refrain from taking any required medication even if it contains chometz, without first consulting his physician and Rav.
Note: All medications for a heart condition, diabetes, abnormal blood pressure, stroke, kidney disease, lung disease, depression, epilepsy, the immune system (transplant anti-rejection), and cancer treatment (including precautionary) may be taken on Pesach. Furthermore, all prescription medication taken on a regular basis for chronic conditions should only be changed with the consultation of your physician. (If you can not reach your physician, you should continue to take your regular prescription and not change.) Some examples of such chronic conditions include the following: Any psychiatric condition, prostate condition, Crohn’s Disease, celiac, colitis, high cholesterol, Parkinson’s Disease, anemia, multiple sclerosis, thyroid condition, and asthma.
A partial listing of Kitniyos
Cumin (differing customs)
Dextrose (outside U.S. may be chometz)
II. THE FOLLOWING PRODUCTS MAY BE USED FOR PESACH WITHOUT SPECIAL KOSHER
FOR PESACH CERTIFICATION (except where noted otherwise). A new box, can or jar should be used where an old one may have come into contact with chometz.
This is a very partial list, for Pesach 5773 / 2013 only. The omission of any specific brand or product does not necessarily imply that it contains chometz or that it is not permissible for use on Pesach. - This list refers only to products manufactured in the U.S. Products manufactured in other countries, including Canada, even with the same brand names, may have different formulations. - Most of the medications, cosmetics and toiletries listed are not under supervision and their listing here, taken primarily from Rabbi Bess’ list and based on information from the manufacturer, pertains only to their lack of chometz, not to the general Kashrus of their ingredients.
Many of the medications contain kitniyos, which is permissible when taken for medicinal purposes. – Many items are available from Adwe Products with Kosher for Pesach certification, and are certified free of chometz, kitniyos and animal derivatives.
An extensive coverage of medications, cosmetics and toiletries which are acceptable for Pesach, prepared by Rabbi Gershon Bess, is available from the Kollel Bais Avrohom of Los Angeles, and may be ordered by calling the Kollel at (323) 933-7193. It is also available locally at Borenstein’s and Spitzer’s Bookstores, and at http://www.star-k.org/cons-pesach-flash.htm
ALMOND MILK: Lieber’s Supreme Almond Milk Alternative in Original and Vanilla flavors bears Pesach certification. If that is not available, the following OU brands of Original almond milk contain no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who require them; they should preferably be purchased before Pesach: 365 Everyday Value, AlmondSense, Hy-Vee, Kroger, Meijer, Ralphs, ShopRite, Trader Joe's.
ANALGESICS: Advil tablets & caplets, Advil Children’s Suspension - all flavors, Advil Infants’ Conc. Drops - Dye-Free White Grape, Bayer aspirin (all forms), Bayer Children’s aspirin, Motrin Children’s Suspension Dye-Free Berry flavor, Motrin Infants’ Conc. Drops – Berry flavor and Dye-Free Berry flavor, Tylenol Extra Strength caplets, Tylenol Infants’ Conc. Drops – Cherry and Dye Free, Tylenol with Codeine tablets & capsules; Triaminic Children’s Syrup Multi-Symptom Fever (acetaminophen) in Bubble Gum and Grape flavors with an OU.
ANTACIDS: Bromo-Seltzer, Di-Gel tablets, Pepcid tablets, Zantac (all forms).
ANTI-DIARRHEALS, LAXATIVES: Citrucel caplets, Colace capsules and syrup, FiberCon caplets, Imodium A-D caplets, Kaopectate liquid (all flavors), Metamucil Clear & Natural, Orange Coarse and Original Coarse powders, Miralax, Phillips’ Milk of Magnesia caplets & Original liquid, Senokot tablets. → IMPORTANT NOTE: “Resource Benefiber”, which is listed on page 87 of the OU Pesach Guide as acceptable for those who are ill, refers only to a special institutional Benefiber product produced by Nestle Nutrition from guar gum, which is available by special order. The regular retail Benefiber product, produced by Novartis, is made from wheat dextrin and is chometz.
BABY FOOD: “Gerber 2nd Foods” in 4 oz. glass jars of Carrots, Squash, Green Beans (kitniyos) and Peas (kitniyos), bearing a plain OU (no P required). Separate utensils should be used for the kitniyos varieties, and they should not be washed in a Pesach sink.
BABY FORMULA: Enfamil, Isomil, Prosobee, Simalac, all with OU. All contain kitniyos. Separate utensils should be used, and they should not be washed in a Pesach sink.
BABY POWDER may be used for Pesach if the ingredients list only talc, talcum powder, corn starch, or other innocuous ingredients. Be alert for oat flour, which is an ingredient in some baby powders.
BABY WIPES without alcohol.
CLEANSERS: Ajax, Clorox, Comet, Fantastik, Formula 409, Lysol, Mr. Clean, Murphy Oil, Pine-Sol Original.
COCOA: Hershey’s Cocoa “Natural Unsweetened”. (The status of Hershey’s Cocoa “Special Dark” variety has not been verified for Pesach.)
COFFEE, GROUND & INSTANT (unflavored):
Regular and decaffeinated: The following brands with an OK-P on the label - Maxwell House, Sanka, Yuban.
Regular only (not decaffeinated): The following brands with a plain OU: Folgers, Taster’s Choice.
CONTACT LENS FLUID
COUGH MEDICINES: Coricidin HBP – all types, Triaminic Children's Cough & Sore Throat Syrup - Grape Flavor with an OU, Tussionex Suspension.
CUPCAKE HOLDERS (baking cups) –
Paper: require certification year round. Reynolds – OU may be used for Pesach.
Foil: do not require certification year round or Pesach.
DENTAL FLOSS: Any unflavored, waxed or unwaxed.
DEODERANT (including roll-ons and sprays): Dry Idea, Old Spice, Right Guard, Secret, Soft & Dri, Sure.
DETERGENT: Any powder with an OU. Liquids: Cheer, Dreft, Dynamo, Fab, Ivory Snow, Tide.
DISHWASHING LIQUID: Ajax, Dawn, Ivory, Joy, Palmolive.
EGGS: should be purchased before Pesach.
FISH, FROZEN RAW: See Part III. [Frozen fish need to be investigated for Pesach to determine if chometz products are processed in the area, or if a corn starch / corn syrup glaze is used.]
FRUIT, FROZEN: Plain frozen unsweetened fruit, with no syrup and no additives listed.
GLUE: Elmer’s Glue-All multi-purpose glue, Elmer’s All Purpose Glue Stick, Elmer’s Washable No Run School Glue. (Not Elmer’s Washable School Paste or No Wrinkle Glue Pens.)
ICE (in bags): from plain water (any brand).
JUICE: Frozen concentrated unsweetened orange juice and grapefruit juice with no additives listed.
LEMON JUICE: ReaLemon with OU.
LIME JUICE: ReaLime with OU.
LIPSTICK: Cover Girl: Continuous Color, Outlast; Revlon: Colorstay Overtime, Moon Drops Moisture Crème, Moon Drops Moisture Frost (not Ultima Ultimate Edition); and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
MOUTHWASH: Act Anticavity Rinse (all), Act Restoring Mouthwash (all), Listerine – Cool Mint, Fresh Burst, Soft Mint & Total Care; Scope, Tom’s of Maine.
NAIL POLISH, NAIL POLISH REMOVER
NUTS: Commercially packaged raw (not blanched) almonds, filberts or walnuts (shelled or unshelled, not ground) without any additives or preservatives (such as BHA or BHT). However, if label states that wheat is present in the same facility, then Pesach certification is recommended. NOTE: Pecans, even raw, require Pesach certification.
OLIVE OIL (unflavored, with no additives listed): Bertolli, Colavita and Filippo Berio brands of Extra Virgin with OU, Pompeian Extra Virgin with Star-K, and other brands listed in OU and Star-K Pesach directories.
OVEN CLEANERS: Easy Off, Mr. Muscle, Shaklee.
PARCHMENT PAPER: Reynolds – OU, and all brands bearing a Star-K.
PERFUME: Chanel Allure, Chanel Chance, Charlie, Ciara cologne spray, Estee Lauder Beautiful, Gucci, and many others on Rabbi Bess’ list.
PLASTIC WRAP AND BAGS
PLATES & CUPS, DISPOSABLE: Pure plastic or styrofoam plates and cups; Chinet with OK-P.
RAISINS (only if oil is not listed on the package): The following brands with an OU: Champion, Del Monte (natural and golden), Dole, Great Value, Jewel, ShopRite, Trader Joe’s.
RICE MILK: The following OU brands of Original rice milk contain no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who are permitted by their Rav to eat kitniyos; they should preferably be purchased before Pesach: Hy-Vee, Meijer, RiceSense, ShopRite. Also, Rice Dream unsweetened (not standard) rice milk.
SALT: Any non-iodized OU brand not listing dextrose or polysorbate.
SCOURING PADS: O-Cel-O Sponges, Scotch Brite scouring pads & soap pads, and any plain steel wool.
SHAMPOO: Head and Shoulders, Johnson’s Baby Shampoo, Revlon Flex, Revlon Frost & Glow, Selsun Blue Lotion.
SILVER POLISH: Hagerty, Weiman Royal Sterling, Wrights.
SOY MILK: The following OU brands of Original soy milk contain no chometz, and may be used on Pesach by those who are permitted by their Rav to eat kitniyos; they should preferably be purchased before Pesach: Soy Dream enriched, 365 Everyday Value (Original, Light & Unsweetened), Giant, Meijer, ShopRite, SoySense Enriched.
SPRAY STARCH: Niagara, Linit
SUGAR: Big Chief, Pioneer and Peninsular brands of white granulated sugar with the K-COR symbol (no P required), Domino with OK-P.
TEA: INSTANT - Nestea 100% Tea, regular and decaffeinated (unflavored, unsweetened) - OU.
TEA BAGS - Regular tea bags that are unflavored and not decaffeinated, and have no additives, may be used for Pesach without special certification. Lipton unflavored Decaffeinated Tea Bags with OU may be used for Pesach without special Pesach certification.
TOOTHPASTE: Aim, Aquafresh; Colgate – all including “2 in 1” liquid; Crest for Kids, Crest Multicare, Gleem, Pepsodent, Ultrabrite.
WATER: Any unflavored, spring or distilled, with no additives listed.
WAX PAPER: The following brands with an OU: Cut-Rite, Home Life, Meijer, Reynolds, ShopRite, Stop & Shop.
III. PRODUCT ALERTS
FAYGO’s ORIGINAL SPARKLING WATER is not available for Pesach this year, due to its inability to procure CO2 from a non-fermentation source. Mayim Chaim seltzer for Pesach, plain and flavored, is available at One Stop Kosher.
CHAZZANO COFFEE EBRAICA products with K-COR are Kosher for Pesach – caffeinated and decaffeinated.
PRE-WASHED PACKAGED ICEBERG LETTUCE SALAD and COLESLAW require Pesach approval due to the citric or lactic acid that may be used in the washing process. →This year, all Star-K certified brands, including Dole, Fresh Express and Kroger’s Fresh Selections, require a P next to the Star-K.
C. WIRTHY & CO. ATLANTIC SALMON FROZEN FILLETS (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach. (We do not have any Pesach information regarding the C. Wirthy product from Norway.)
Costco’s KIRKLAND SIGNATURE ATLANTIC SALMON FROZEN PORTIONS and FILLETS in salt water solution (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing an OU are Kosher for Pesach.
FISHIN brand FROZEN WHITING FILLETS (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach.
JOYVA PRODUCTS are Kof-K certified for year-round use, but not for Pesach, because they contain cornstarch and corn syrup. They are therefore not recommended for Pesach, even when bearing the Passover marking of a different certification.
SCHMERLING'S SUGARLESS AND NO SUGAR ADDED CHOCOLATES are not Kosher for Pesach, and state so on their labels.
NATURAL & KOSHER brand cheeses are not all Kosher for Pesach. Check each package for Pesach certification.
HAOLAM CHEESES: A number of newer types of Haolam cheeses are not Kosher for Pesach, and they state so clearly on their packaging. Check each product carefully for Pesach certification.
ELITE CHOCOLATES are recommended only when bearing the certification of the OU or the Badatz of Eida Hacharedis. For Pesach, special Pesach marking is required.
SUGAT and ORZIL BRANDS of beans, peas, rice and seeds are kitniyos, which are not eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. The Badatz of Eida Hacharedis symbol on the label therefore states that its certification is not for Pesach. The Pesach certification that is on some of these products, from a different agency, is only for Sefardim.
“PLAY-DOH” contains chometz.
ELI'S CHEESECAKE products that are manufactured during Pesach are not acceptable, and will not bear the cRc logo on their packaging. Consumers should check for the cRc when purchasing after Pesach.
BEN-DAVID WINERY, based in Moshav Sdei Eliezer, was found last year to be using the “OK” symbol on bottles of Merlot 2008 (a dry red wine) without authorization. The label states “OK-P” (Kosher for Passover), but, in actuality, the wine has a regular non-mehadrin supervision and is the product of heter mechira grapes.
WINN DIXIE WOVEN WHEAT CRACKERS mistakenly bear an OU-P symbol on some packaging. This product is not Kosher for Pesach.
STREIT’S MATZO MEAL stating “NOT FOR PASSOVER USE” was mistakenly placed in the Pesach section at some local Meijer stores. Please bring this to the attention of anyone who may have shopped there.
As a community service, Hagalas Keilim (Kashering of utensils) will be available to the community at Young Israel of Oak Park, Sunday March 24 from 9 AM-12 PM and at Young Israel of Southfield, Sunday March 17 from 9-10:30 AM.
POST-PESACH 5773 INFORMATION – DETROIT AREA
CHOMETZ may be purchased from the following stores in the Detroit area immediately after Pesach, except for DUNKIN’ DONUTS at 10 Mile & Greenfield, where chometz should not be bought until 10:15 PM on Motzoei Pesach.
All COR certified establishments
Family Dollar Stores
GFS (Gordon Food Service)
One Stop Kosher Market
Save-A-Lot 11 & Greenfield and 9 & Woodward
Sam’s Club Warehouse
Please consult your Rav concerning buying chometz after Pesach from Jewish owned stores that do not observe Pesach.