2021-3-5 KosherGram PDF
KEMACH SANDWICH COOKIES (all varieties) that were produced in 2021 are Chodosh, not Yoshon, even if the package states Yoshon. These can be identified by the number 21 at the end of the date code (e.g. 032 21).
ENFAMIL PROSOBEE SOY INFANT FORMULA POWDER has changed from OU Pareve to OU Dairy Equipment.
ORGANIC BITTERSWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS from Z NATURAL FOODS is certified by EarthKosher as Dairy Equipment. Some labels are inadvertently missing the DE designation.
QUAKER BANANAS & CREAM INSTANT OATMEAL sold in Canada was incorrectly labelled without a Dairy designation. This product is certified COR Dairy.
WISE SALSA (sauces) – all varieties: The OU certified many varieties of Wise Salsas. Due to changes at Wise Foods, the OU can no longer certify them, and new jars will not bear the OU symbol. Jars that still bear the OU symbol are certified. Check each jar.
FOOD CLUB RICE MEDLEY WITH HERBS is not OU certified. Some boxes bear an unauthorized OU symbol. If you see this product in the marketplace, please provide details to firstname.lastname@example.org.
‘100% ORGANIC GLYCERINE’ being sold by ARYAN INTERNATIONAL of Greater Noida, UP, India, with only a Star-K symbol on the label is not authorized. Glycerin from Aryan International is required to display the Rabbi’s Hebrew signature in addition to the Star-K symbol, in order to be certified.
WILTON SPRINKLES RECALL: Wilton Brands has announced a national recall of all lots of six sprinkles products and one kit containing affected sprinkles, because they may contain undeclared milk. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious allergic reaction if they consume these products.
Details are available at www.wilton.com/recall or 800-794-5866.
PRE-PESACH SHOPPING ADVICE
KIRKLAND SIGNATURE BLANCHED ALMOND FLOUR at Costco: Some bags bear a Kof-K Pareve symbol (without Pesach marking), and some bags bear a K type symbol with the words “Certified for Passover”. Both types may be used for Pesach.
BLUE DIAMOND ALMOND FLOUR with a plain OK symbol may be used for Pesach.
GEFEN COCONUT MILK is certified by both the Volover Rav, Rabbi N.E. Teitelbaum, and the OU. The Volover Rav has issued a notice that all Gefen Coconut Milk (Sweetened and Unsweetened) is not Kosher for Pesach, despite the “Kosher for Pesach” print on the label. The OU maintains that this product is acceptable for use on
Pesach when bearing Pesach marking.
GREAT VALUE CONFECTIONERS POWDERED SUGAR (Walmart): Some on-line pictures of this product mistakenly show a UMK-P symbol. This contains corn starch and is not Kosher for Pesach. The actual product does not bear Pesach marking.