K-COR Kosher Alerts

Older alerts can be found in the archives.

By Vaad Harabbonim on September 23, 2019

2019-9-22 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

HONEY:

• Standard honey goes through a filtering process, which removes the non-Kosher bee parts. Even “raw and unfiltered” honey is usually strained, to remove the bee parts. However, some completely unprocessed honeys are neither filtered nor strained. If the label or the manufacturer states that the honey is not strained, or if bee parts are visible, that honey should be avoided or should be strained by the consumer.

• Please be aware that “Forest honey”, “Honeydew honey”, and “Beechwood honey” (or honey named after other types of trees such as Pine, Fir, Oak, etc.), generally refer to honey produced by bees that have consumed the non-Kosher excretions of aphids and scale insects left on trees (as opposed to standard honey produced from flower nectar). These are not considered Kosher according to some opinions, and should be avoided.

• “Royal Jelly” is a bee product that, unlike regular honey, is an actual secretion of the bee. Some Poskim therefore rule that it is not included in the permitted category of “honey”, and it should be avoided.

FISH HEADS: [From New Square Kashrus Council]

• White fish: White fish heads are free of infestation concern.

• Salmon/Baby salmon: Salmon heads [even farm raised] are commonly infested with salmon lice (small brownish parasites ranging in size from approximately 1-3 cm).

· The entire gills must be removed. (It may be easier to first cut the head in half before cleaning).

· Rinse the head thoroughly with water while rubbing all surfaces of the head (inside and outside), including all cracks, crevices and folds, and under and around the tongue. Inspect the head to make sure it is clean.

One who wants to avoid the checking process may just rinse the head and cook the head in a separate pot, take a small piece from the flesh of the head, and visually inspect it before eating to make sure there is no foreign object on it.

• Carp: Carp heads may be infested with very small transparent insects called Argulus that are very hard to detect. There is no known method to clean infested carp heads properly, and they should not be used unless checked by an expert.

BLACK EYED PEAS are often infested and require careful checking. The following is the Star-K procedure for checking dried, canned or frozen black eyed peas, and applies even if the product bears Kashrus certification. (Note: Canned peas and beans always require Kashrus certification, for general Kashrus concerns.)

• Dried peas should first be boiled in water. After they have been fully cooked, turn off the flame and allow the peas to soak in the water for 2-3 hours. The peas will swell and the peel will become translucent. Then check as below.

• Canned or frozen peas may be checked straight out of the can/bag; there is no need to boil or soak.

• To check: Take the peas and inspect for holes or dark-colored stains, as this may indicate an insect beneath the thin peel. If there is a dark spot on the peel, remove the thin skin and check if there is a cavity with a bug in it. (The black “eye” spot is not a sign of infestation. Similarly, orange colored stains on the surface are not signs of infestation; only dark or black stains are of concern.)

[Note: For those who prefer not to rely on checking, some Poskim advise that the Rosh Hashana simanim custom can be fulfilled without eating the item, by placing it on the table and looking at it.]

DATES:

• Fresh and Dried Dates from ISRAEL are sold at many stores in the U.S., including locally. If they do not bear a reliable Kosher certification, they require taking of Terumos and Maaseros by the consumer (without a bracha).

• American dates (even with Kashrus certification): Slice open a handful from the container and inspect carefully under good light, especially around the pit, for worms or any sign of infestation, such as webbing or brown crumb-like particles. Small white particles are sugar crystals, and are not a sign of infestation. If no infestation is found, the rest may be eaten without checking. Foreign: Some Kashrus agencies recommend inspecting every date. From Pakistan, Tunisia and Algeria: Some Kashrus agencies advise to avoid. Pressed dates are frequently infested and cannot be checked, and are not recommended.

KASHRUS ALERTS

PAS YISROEL: The K-COR wishes to remind the Kosher consumer of the accepted custom to be stringent on Pas Yisroel during Aseres Yemei T’shuva. Please be advised that many K-COR certified establishments produce or sell some bread and cake products that are not Pas Yisroel. Please ask the Mashgiach or call the K-COR office for details regarding specific establishments.

• The following establishments are totally Pas Yisroel: ZEMAN’S, BAKE STATION, PIZZA STOP, PRIME 10, and SOUL CAFÉ RESTAURANT (not catering). At Jerusalem Pizza, the pizza and bagels are Pas Yisroel.

• In addition, all BROWN’S BUN BAKERY buns, rolls and bread are Pas Yisroel (glow-plug method), and MILANO BAKERY bread and rolls that bear the K-COR symbol are Pas Yisroel (glow-plug method), except for Milano Bread Sticks.

• TRADER JOE’S brand of CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BABKA, MANGO BROOKLYN BABKA and HALF MOON COOKIES that bear OU Pareve are Pas Yisroel and Yoshon.

• FOOD FOR LIFE EZEKIEL SPROUTED GRAIN BREADS with the Kof-K symbol are Pas Yisroel. The Pocket Bread, however, is not Pas Yisroel.

SPRING VALLEY CHEESE BLINTZES – OU Dairy – are made in both Cholov Yisroel and non-Cholov Yisroel versions. Only those packages that state “Cholov Yisroel” on the label are Cholov Yisroel. Check each package.

GENERAL MILLS CINNAMON TOAST CRUNCH “CHURROS” cereal is OU-D certified (dairy equipment), even without the OU symbol on the package.

SEASON ASIAN HARVEST brand canned WHOLE SWEET BABY CORN is inadvertently missing the OU symbol on the label for Lot #12219. This product is certified even without the OU symbol. Some product will have an OU symbol sticker added to the can.

Most SIMPLY NATURE ORGANIC BREADS at Aldi are no longer manufactured by a Kosher certified company, and no longer bear the Kosher Check symbol.

HAPPY BABY ORGANICS “CLEARLY CRAFTED” baby food jars are no longer OU certified due to changes in production, and new jars therefore no longer bear the OU symbol. Jars that still bear the OU were produced before this change. Check each label. [Note: The new jars without the OU state “Clearly Crafted” on the front of the jar above the variety name, instead of on the side.] Other Happy Baby products remain OU certified when bearing the OU symbol. Certification of the jar products may possibly be reinstated in the future.

SNAPPLE DIET CRANBERRY RASPBERRY Juice Drink is not OK certified and is not a Kosher product. Some 6-packs (16 oz. bottles) were mistakenly printed with the OK symbol on the outer cartons. The actual bottles do not bear the OK symbol.

SHATNEZ ALERT

CUISINART BRAND OVEN MITTS, product of China, with a label stating “100% Polyester Filling”, actually contain wool and linen in the filling. In general, oven mitt fillings should be checked for shatnez, especially if made in China. Silicone mitts without a filling do not require checking. [Star-K]

PRODUCT RECALLS

GOLD MEDAL UNBLEACHED ALL PURPOSE FLOUR in 5 lb. bags (UPC# 0-16000-19610-0) with a Better If Used By date of 06SEP2020KC has been recalled due to potential presence of E. coli O26 contamination. Consumers who have had to discard products covered by this recall may contact General Mills Consumer Relations at 1-800-230-8103 or www.generalmills.com/flour for a replacement coupon. This recall affects only this one date code of Gold Medal Unbleached Flour 5 lb. bags. All other types of Gold Medal Flour are not affected by this recall.

The FDA and CDC remind consumers that flour is not a “ready to eat” ingredient. Flour is made from wheat that is grown outdoors where bacteria are often present, and flour is typically not treated to kill bacteria during the normal milling process. Anything made with flour must be cooked or baked before eating. Salmonella is killed by heat through baking, frying, sautéing or boiling products made with flour. All surfaces, hands and utensils should be properly cleaned after contact with flour or dough.

UDI’S GLUTEN FREE CLASSIC HAMBURGER BUNS with a bag closure code of 191971U has been recalled due to the potential presence of small pieces of white plastic. Details are available at 800-881-3989 or https://www.conagrabrands.com/news-room/news-udis-classic-hamburger-buns-recalled-due-to-potential-presence-of-foreign-material-prn-122698

WHIRLPOOL, KITCHENAID and JENNAIR brand GLASS COOKTOPS WITH TOUCH CONTROLS with certain model numbers have been recalled because the cooktop surface elements can turn on by themselves, posing burn and fire hazards. Details are available at 888-900-7897 or https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2019/Whirlpool-Recalls-Glass-Cooktops-with-Touch-Controls-Due-to-Burn-and-Fire-Hazards

By Vaad Harabbonim on September 2, 2019

2019-8-28 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

LEMONHEAD LEMON CANDY from Ferrara Candy Co. is not certified Kosher and is produced in a non-Kosher facility. Some 40.5 oz. containers (150 Pieces) that are being sold as a seasonal promotion, at Kroger and at other stores, bear an unauthorized UMK symbol on the back label. The only Ferrara candies that remain under UMK certification are Atomic Fireballs and Jawbreakers, and only when they bear the UMK symbol on each individual box.

KROGER SHERRY COOKING WINE, KROGER RED COOKING WINE and KROGER WHITE COOKING WINE (corrected product names) are not OU certified and are not Kosher products. Some labels bear an unauthorized OU symbol. A “Product Notice” is printed on the cash register receipts for these products, and is posted at some Kroger stores.

SNAPPLE DRINKS: Not all Snapple products are OK certified and pareve. Snapple’s new BLACK CHERRY LEMONADE, Snapple FRUIT PUNCH and Snapple CRANBERRY RASPBERRY (regular and Diet) Juice Drinks, plus any other varieties that contain grape juice, are not Kosher and do not bear an OK symbol. Snapple GO BANANAS drink contains milk and cream and is certified OK Dairy. Many Snapple items in cans are produced on dairy equipment and bear OK DE. Each bottle or can should be checked carefully for the OK symbol and its Pareve/Dairy status. (A plain OK symbol without a D indicates pareve.) Care should also be taken when purchasing variety packs, which may contain a mixture of Kosher and non-Kosher varieties.

HERSHEY’S PUDDINGS are not OU certified and are not recommended. This applies both to the Instant puddings mixes (in Chocolate, White Chocolate, Special Dark and Creamy Vanilla varieties) which bear no Kosher marking, and to the ready-to-eat Cups (in Chocolate, S’mores and Cookies ‘N’ Crème varieties) which bear KD.

“I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S NOT BUTTER” VEGETABLE OIL SPREADS: Most varieties contain dairy ingredients and bear an OU-D. Some varieties are pareve and bear a plain OU symbol. One pareve variety, called “the LIGHT one”, mistakenly bears an OU-D on some lids. It correctly bears a plain OU on the container itself.

SPLENDA WITH SAMPLE DRINK MIXES: Some 9.7 oz. pouches of Splenda Granulated Sweetener contain samples of Iced Tea and Strawberry Watermelon liquid drink mixes. These drink mixes are certified OU Dairy. The back of the pouch states both OU Pareve and OU-D. The OU Pareve pertains to the Splenda sweetener, and the OU-D pertains to the drink mixes. Similarly, some 200 Packets boxes of Splenda Sweetener contain a sample of Splenda Lemon Iced Tea Concentrate, and the bottom of the box states both OU Pareve and OU-D. In this case, the label explains that the packets are pareve, and the Iced Tea Concentrate is dairy.

BORENSTEIN CATERERS VEGETABLE LASAGNA mistakenly states OU Glatt Kosher and OU Pareve. This product contains dairy ingredients, as listed on the ingredient panel, and is certified OU Dairy.

“INSPIRED ORGANICS” ORGANIC CUT SPINACH: The cRc has announced that pouches of this product that bear the lot # S1905291 have been found to be infested, and may not be used even though they bear the cRc symbol.

SUPREMO ITALIANO FRESH MOZZARELLA CHEESE LOAF, sold by Restaurant Depot, bears an unauthorized OK symbol on the back label.

GOLDEN CROWN YELLOW RICE WITH SAFFRON, distributed by International Golden Foods, Inc., bears an unauthorized cRc symbol and is incorrectly labeled as vegan. This product contains non-Kosher chicken fat and is not Kosher. If mislabeled product still bearing the cRc symbol is found on store shelves, please forward a picture of the item and the location where it was found to info@crckosher.org.

FONDANT from DAVID ROSEN BAKERY SUPPLY, in industrial sized containers, bears an unauthorized Star-K symbol.

PRODUCT RECALLS

ENTENMANN’S LITTLE BITES SOFT BAKED COOKIES 5 pouch Mini Chocolate Chip variety has been recalled due to the potential presence of visible, blue plastic pieces in the individual pouches that may result in a choking hazard. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/bimbo-bakeries-usa-voluntary-recall-entenmanns-little-bites-cookies-due-potential-presence-plastic or 800-984-0989.

GRAINED SALMON CAVIAR manufactured by AWERS Inc. in 95g cans that state BEST BEFORE OCT 07 2020 has been recalled because it has the potential to be contaminated with Clostridium Botulinum [botulism]. Details are available at AWERS, Inc. Recalls Grained Salmon Caviar 95g Because of Possible Health Risk or 425-747-7866.

CONTIGO KIDS CLEANABLE WATER BOTTLES LIDS with a black spout base and black spout cover have been recalled because the clear silicone spout can detach, posing a choking hazard to children. Details are available at www.gocontigo.com/recall or 888-262-0622.

By Vaad Harabbonim on August 4, 2019

2019-7-28 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

BUBLY brand SPARKLING WATER in all flavors is Kosher and does not require Kosher marking.

SUNDAE SHOPPE CHERRY/GRAPE/ORANGE JUNIOR POPS regular and Sugar-Free, sold at Aldi, now bear an OU-D due to dairy equipment. They may be eaten after meat, but not with meat.

BASKIN-ROBBINS new “NON-DAIRY CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH FROZEN DESSERT” and “NON-DAIRY CHOCOLATE EXTREME FROZEN DESSERT” bear a Star-D symbol due to dairy equipment, and may be eaten after meat, but not with meat. In addition, the following Baskin-Robbins ices and sorbets bear a Star-D due to dairy equipment, and may be eaten after meat: Daiquiri Ice, Horchata Ice, Watermelon Splash Ice, Miami Vice Sorbet, and Raspberry Sorbet. [“Sorbet” should not be confused with Sherbet, which contains actual milk ingredients.]

(Note: As explained in the Kashrus Alerts of 6/26/19, it is always preferable to buy at a fully supervised ice cream store. If it is necessary to buy from an unsupervised store, the consumer should request and see the sealed container before it is opened and check for the Kosher symbol, and the scoop should be thoroughly washed.)

SIMPLY brand JUICES AND DRINKS: Most varieties are OU certified and bear the OU symbol. However, the new Simply Smoothie drinks in three flavors are not OU certified and do not bear an OU.

GERBER SITTER 2nd FOODS – APPLE BANANA with OATMEAL CEREAL and APPLE MANGO with RICE CEREAL (in 2 Packs of 4 oz. cups), which were OU certified in the past, are no longer certified due to changes in production; new packages therefore no longer bear the OU. Older packages that still bear the OU symbol are Kosher. Check each package carefully. Other varieties of 2nd Foods fruit with cereal were not certified in the past and remain non-certified.

INSTANT RICE or MINUTE RICE requires reliable Kashrus certification in order to avoid an issue of bishul akum. If used without certification, Kashering of utensils may be required; consult your Rav. [Instant rice is fully cooked at the factory and then dehydrated, and although the package directions call for a brief cooking, it can actually be made fully edible just by soaking in water without cooking.] Note: Parboiled or Converted rice that is not Instant and not precooked does not pose a bishul akum issue.

EARTHLY GRAINS INSTANT RICE, sold at Aldi in White Rice and Brown Rice varieties, is manufactured by multiple suppliers. Some boxes bear Kosher marking (Star-K or OU), while others do not. Check each box carefully. (See above item regarding Instant Rice.)

GEFEN HUNGARIAN SOUR CHERRIES (23.9 oz. jar) has been recalled due to infestation that was found in some of the cherries.

RUSHMORE ESSENTIALS ORGANIC ANTIOXIDANT 3-BERRY BLEND (Strawberries, Blueberries and Blackberries) bears an unauthorized OK symbol. This product was recalled last year, but was found recently at a food bank.

HARRIS TEETER CRANBERRY BLACK CHERRY JUICE COCKTAIL is not OU certified. Some labels bear an unauthorized OU symbol.

FOOD CLUB TOMATO CLAM JUICE COCKTAIL bears an unauthorized OU symbol on some labels.

SAFIR canned TOMATOES WITH TOMATO JUICE AND BASIL, a product of Tunisia, bears an unauthorized Star-K sticker.

THE CHODOSH SEASON is beginning very soon. Those who want to purchase Yoshon items to store over the Chodosh season should do so now.

ONE STOP KOSHER FOOD MARKET: Only the following One Stop departments are supervised by the Council of Orthodox Rabbis of Greater Detroit:

• Deli Dept.
• Pizza Stop
• Superior Meat Dept.
• Fresh Bakery Dept.
• Repackaged Bulk Candies bearing the K-COR symbol
• Fresh Produce [insect-prone items that do not bear certification on the label need to be checked by the consumer]

The consumer should check all other products for a reliable Kosher certification on the label. While most products in the store have recommended certifications, there are some exceptions, such as Del Monte canned vegetables, and Birds Eye frozen vegetables (spinach, broccoli stir-fry), that bear Triangle K. There are also some certifications about which there may be different opinions, in particular regarding certain candies with foreign certifications. If the symbol is not on the COR’s Kosher card, check with your Rav or call the COR (Vaad Harabbonim).

TISHA B’AV & YOM KIPPUR ALERT: TOMS SHOES canvas and material styles are worn by many on Tisha B’Av and Yom Kippur in the belief that they have no leather content. In fact, except for those Toms shoes that are classified as “Vegan”, most Toms shoes do contain leather or suede leather, in either the insole, the upper or the heel wrap.

PRODUCT RECALL – 7-SELECT HUMMUS & PRETZELS at 7-Eleven stores that bear a date code of 150 through 176 on the side of the container (as the last 3 digits of the 5 digit code) have been recalled due to potential Listeria contamination. Containers with these codes have been found in local 7-Eleven stores. A number of other brands of hummus products have also been recalled. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/pita-pal-foods-lp-recalls-various-hummus-and-dips-due-possible-health-risk or 832-803-9295.

By Vaad Harabbonim on June 28, 2019

2019-6-26 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

ICE CREAM and FROZEN YOGURT STORES often claim that they are Kosher and post Kosher certification letters, which leads consumers to believe that the store and its products are under supervision. In fact, in most cases, the letters refer only to specific products or ingredients which are factory produced under supervision, and are certified only when in their original sealed packaging bearing Kosher marking. Once the unsupervised store opens the packaging, the certification is no longer valid. Unless the consumer verifies that there is actual on-site reliable Rabbinical supervision of the entire individual retail store, no ice cream, yogurt, syrups or toppings should be considered Kosher except for those in their original sealed containers bearing a reliable Kosher certification.

The following are some stores in our area that are not under supervision: TCBY, Haagen-Dazs, Sweet Earth, Menchie’s, and Macy’s Fruigurt.

It is always preferable to buy at fully supervised stores. Locally, soft serve Cholov Yisroel ice cream is available at Jerusalem Pizza. Hard pack non-Cholov Yisroel ice cream and yogurt is available at Baskin-Robbins/Dunkin’ Donuts at 10 Mile & Greenfield in Oak Park (which is K-COR certified for all products). Packaged Cholov Yisroel ice cream is available at One Stop Kosher Food Market.

If it is necessary to purchase hard pack ice cream or yogurt from an unsupervised store, the consumer should request and see a sealed container before it is opened, and check for the Kosher certification mark on the container. In addition, the scoop should be thoroughly washed.

Soft serve ice cream or yogurt should not be purchased from an unsupervised store, because of the inability to verify that Kosher mix was put into the machine.

LAWRY’S SEASONINGS: Most, but not all, Lawry’s seasonings are OU certified. The certified items normally bear the OU symbol. However, there are some certified items that do not bear the OU. If you wish to verify the Kosher status of a Lawry’s product that does not bear an OU, contact the OU at 212-613-8241 or kosherq@ou.org and give the product name and UPC number. (If the OU confirms that it is certified, please call 800-9-LAWRYS to request that the manufacturer place the OU symbol on the label.) – Please note that Lawry’s Garlic Spread, which does not bear an OU, lists parmesan cheese and is not Kosher.

APPLE & EVE JUICE BOXES 36 COUNT VARIETY PACK: Most Apple & Eve juices, except grape, are OU certified and bear the OU symbol. However, some 36 Count Variety Packs that state Made in Canada are not certified and do not bear the OU. They are sold at Costco and Sam’s Club. Always check for the OU symbol.

QUAKER CHEWY GRANOLA BARS 58 COUNT VARIETY PACK: Many, but not all, varieties of Quaker Chewy Granola Bars are OU certified and bear the OU symbol. Among the non-certified varieties are S’mores and Peanut Butter Marshmallow, which contain gelatin. One type of 58 Count Variety Pack sold online, with UPC # 0 30000 56759 3, contains these two non-certified varieties, but mistakenly bears an OU symbol on the outer package. This is unauthorized. Other types of 58 Count Variety Packs sold online that bear an OU are authorized.

SABRA FOOD PRODUCTS from SABRA FOODS, NORWOOD, MA 02062 (manufactured by International Food Products, Inc., dba Sabra Foods), including Hummus, Baba Ghanoush, Tahini Sauce, Tabouli, Black Bean & Wheat Pilaf, Grape Leaves, Cracked Wheat Salad, and Mediterranean Salad, bear an unauthorized KVH. ** PLEASE NOTE: This company is not affiliated with Sabra Dippng Co., LLC, White Plains, NY, which remains under OK / Rabbi Weissmandl certification for most of its hummus and guacamole products. [See following item.]

SABRA GUACAMOLE WITH TOSTITOS ROLLS TORTILLA CHIPS from Sabra Dippng Co., LLC, White Plains, NY: Please be aware that this product does not bear the OK and Rabbi Weissmandl certifications that appear on most Sabra Dipping Co. products, and is not recommended.

MALT-O-MEAL CEREALS: The OU certifies some, but not all, Malt-O-Meal cereals. The products that are certified have an OU symbol printed directly on the box. Royal Imports, an importer in Kfar Hanina, Israel, is importing products and placing stickers with an OU symbol on them, whether or not the products are certified. Consumers should not rely on any stickers placed on products imported into Israel unless the OU symbol is also part of the original product packaging.

GIANT and STOP & SHOP MOZZARELLA STICKS, sold in Giant and Stop & Shop supermarkets, are not certified by the OU. Some boxes bear an unauthorized OU symbol.

PRODUCT RECALLS

EXPANDED FLOUR RECALL: The following three brands of flour in 5 lb. bags, all supplied by an ADM Milling Co. production facility in Buffalo, N.Y., have been recalled due to potential presence of E. coli bacteria: King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour [6 specific lot codes, distributed nationwide]; Pillsbury Best Bread Flour [2 specific lot codes, distributed in 10 states, not including Michigan]; and ALDI’s Baker’s Corner All Purpose Flour [all lot codes, distributed in 11 states, not including Michigan]. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/food/outbreaks-foodborne-illness/outbreak-investigation-e-coli-o26-linked-adm-milling-co-flour-may-2019 or at 866-797-9178 / 866-219-9333 / 800-422-1688 respectively.

The FDA and CDC remind consumers not to consume any raw products made with flour. Flour is made from wheat that is grown outdoors where bacteria are often present, and is typically not treated to kill bacteria during the normal milling process. Anything made with flour must be cooked or baked before eating. All surfaces, hands and utensils should be properly cleaned after contact with flour or dough.

PARENT’S CHOICE ADVANTAGE INFANT FORMULA MILK-BASED POWDER WITH IRON 35 oz., lot code C26EVFV, sold exclusively at Walmart, is being recalled because of the potential presence of metal foreign matter. Details are available at https://investor.perrigo.com/press-releases or 866-629-6181.

By Vaad Harabbonim on May 28, 2019

2019-5-27 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

DOLE FRUIT PRODUCTS “IN 100% FRUIT JUICE” that in the past bore an OU and contained Kosher grape juice, are no longer using Kosher grape juice, and new packages therefore no longer bear the OU symbol. This includes Dole Mandarin Oranges, Tropical Fruit, Mixed Fruit, Peaches, Pears, Grapefruit, etc. in cans, cups and plastic jars that say “In 100% Fruit Juice” and list white grape juice concentrate in the ingredients. Packages that still bear the OU were produced before this change. Every package should be carefully checked for the OU symbol.

Some FIBER ONE BARS (especially “Chewy” types) that were previously OU certified are no longer certified, due to changes in manufacturing procedures, and will no longer bear an OU. Check each package for the OU symbol.

HINT MINT mint candies are no longer KSA certified. Any products in stores that still bear the KSA symbol are not certified.

JOY CONE PRODUCTS: Due to changes in manufacturing procedures, Joy Sugar Cones, Waffle Cones, Waffle Bowls and Pretzel Cones are now produced on dairy (non-Cholov Yisroel) equipment, and will be labeled Star-D Dairy. Their ingredients have not changed. Joy Cake Cones and Gluten Free Cake Cones will remain Star-K Pareve.

NATURAL OVENS BAKERY – The following Natural Ovens breads with an OU are Pas Yisroel:

• Whole Grain – Right Wheat
• Whole Grain – Multi-Grain
• 100% Whole Grain
• Better White
• Oatmeal

Natural Ovens Organic 100% Whole Grain Wheat Bread with CK [Cincinnati Kosher] certification, sold at Costco, is not Pas Yisroel.

Natural Ovens Better Wheat Buns (retail product) with an OU is Pas Yisroel per the “Glow Plug method” [an electrical heating element turned on by the Mashgiach], which most Kashrus agencies consider Pas Yisroel. (The OU, however, based on a psak of Rabbi Yisroel Belsky zt’l, does not accept this as Pas Yisroel.)

S. ROSEN’S BREADS, BUNS AND ROLLS (retail products) with an OU are Pas Yisroel per the “Glow Plug method” [see above].

WILD PLANET SKIPJACK WILD TUNA and WILD PLANET ALBACORE WILD TUNA in cans and pouches that bear the letters B.Y. next to the OU symbol are Bishul Yisroel. They are not produced with Mashgiach Temidi. Cans and pouches that do not bear B.Y. are not Bishul Yisroel.

GERBER 2ND FOODS PEAR CUPS: The OU certifies many varieties of Gerber 2nd Foods products that are packed in 4 oz. aseptic cups. Each cup bears the ink-jetted name of the product. [See https://s3.images-iherb.com/gbr/gbr07606/l/1.jpg ] The OU symbol appears only on the cardboard sleeve that holds the cups. [See https://s3.images-iherb.com/gbr/gbr07606/y/0.jpg ] Some Gerber Pear sleeves with the OU symbol were mistakenly used for Gerber Apple Chicken Dinner cups, a non-Kosher product. Consumers should carefully check that the ink-jetted name on the cups matches the product description that is on the cardboard sleeve. The mislabeled products are being recalled.

LIRA BALSAMIC VINEGAR from Castella Imports, Inc. bears an unauthorized OK Kosher symbol. This product is not OK certified.

Frozen COLLARD GREENS distributed by ENDICO POTATOES, Inc. bear an unauthorized Kof-K symbol, plus K#1919, on some packages. This product is not Kof-K certified.

SARDO ANTIPASTO JALAPENOS STUFFED WITH FETA CHEESE bears an unauthorized COR 77 symbol, and is not Kosher.

ROSELI brand SALSA PARA PASTAS DE PRIMERA distributed by US Foods, an institutional product, is not OU certified. An unauthorized OU symbol was removed from the packaging in August 2018. Anyone seeing this product with an OU is asked to contact the OU hotline at 212-613-8241 or KosherQ@OU.org.

HAPPY CHEF CANNED SWEET PEAS in #10 cans (institutional size) bear an unauthorized Star-K symbol. This product is not Kosher certified.

PRODUCT RECALLS

BAKERS CORNER ALL PURPOSE FLOUR sold at Aldi in 5 lb. bags with UPC # 041498130404 has been recalled in 11 states, including the Northeastern U.S. plus Ohio and W. Virginia, due to potential presence of E. coli. Details are available at https://corporate.aldi.us/en/newsroom/product-recalls or 800-422-1688.

The FDA and CDC remind consumers not to consume any raw products made with flour.. Flour is made from wheat that is grown outdoors where bacteria are often present, and is typically not treated to kill bacteria during the normal milling process. Anything made with flour must be cooked or baked before eating. Salmonella is killed by heat through baking, frying, sautéing or boiling products made with flour. All surfaces, hands and utensils should be properly cleaned after contact with flour or dough.

One lot of HUNT’S TOMATO PASTE NO SALT ADDED 6 oz. cans has been recalled due to potential mold contamination. Details are available at https://www.conagrabrands.com/news-room or 877-266-2472.

Four lots of CHIPS AHOY! CHEWY COOKIES 13oz. packages have been recalled due to potential for an unexpected solidified ingredient. Details are available at http://m.chipsahoy.com or 844-366-1171.

IMPOSSIBLE BURGER vegan burger, that bears lot number OAK19050000 on the case and on the five-pound packaged block, was recalled after a restaurant found a piece of plastic in the bulk product. Details are available at eater.com

By Vaad Harabbonim on April 29, 2019

CHOMETZ may be purchased immediately after Pesach at the following stores in the Detroit area, except for Dunkin Donuts (10 & Greenfield) where chometz should not be bought until 10:30 PM, due to the Halachic requirement of “bichdei sh’yaasu”.

All K-COR certified establishments
Aldi
Busch’s Fresh Food Market
Costco
CVS
Dollar Tree Stores
Family Dollar Stores
GFS (Gordon Food Service)
Joe Randazzo’s Fruit Market
K-Mart
Meijer
Nutrifoods
One Stop Kosher Market
Plum Market
Rite Aid
Save-A-Lot (11 & Greenfield)
Sam’s Club Warehouse
Superior Kosher Meats
Trader Joe’s
Wal-Mart
Walgreens
Westborn
Whole Foods

It is advisable to wait two weeks after Pesach (May 12) before buying “pure” chometz products (e.g., bread, grain cereals, pasta, cookies and pretzels) at Jewish-owned stores that do not observe Pesach, even if they made a Mechiras Chometz before Pesach, due to the possibility that new chometz was received during Pesach. This includes Restaurant Depot, Johnny Pomodoro’s Fresh Market, and Natural Food Patch. It is permitted to purchase most other products immediately after Pesach, including pearled raw barley, dry cake mixes, flour (without malted barley), glue, all kitniyos, ketchup, mayonnaise, medicines, mustard, vinegar, vitamin tablets, baker’s yeast, and yeast extract.
Buying chometz from Kroger and Target in the Detroit area after Pesach involves Halachic uncertainty. Although these stores are owned by non-Jews, there is a possibility that they are supplied by privately-owned Jewish food distributor C&S, and the chometz sold after Pesach may have been in the possession of C&S during Pesach. Since it is difficult to gather precise information, it is commendable to wait two weeks after Pesach (May 12), before buying “pure” chometz items from these stores.

By Vaad Harabbonim on April 17, 2019

THE FOLLOWING PRODUCTS NOT BEARING PESACH CERTIFICATION were for a brief time mistakenly placed in the Pesach section at One Stop Kosher Food Market. Please check every label of your purchases:
• Gefen Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce
• Mehadrin Vanilla Yogurt – 32 oz.
• Mehadrin Greek Cheese Snack
• Lieber’s Apple Sauce (regular) – 48 oz.
• Lieber’s Apple Sauce – Unsweetened – 46 oz.
• Ta’amti Spanish Eggplant

The K-COR certified “PRE-CHECKED ROMAINE LETTUCE” in 8 oz. containers at One Stop Kosher is not certified for Pesach, due to the proximity of the bakery to the lettuce preparation area. The Pre-Checked Romaine Lettuce that will be available during Chol Hamoed will be certified for Pesach, and will state so on the label. – POS’TIV brand romaine lettuce is certified for Pesach, and will be arriving at One Stop on Thursday, April 18.

PRE-WASHED PACKAGED ICEBERG LETTUCE SALAD and COLESLAW require Pesach approval due to the citric or lactic acid that may be used in the washing process. The following Pesach certified brands are available locally with a P after the Kosher symbol (next to the date code):
• Dole – with OK-P
• Fresh Express – with Star-K-P
• Little Salad Bar (Aldi) – with OK-P
• Kroger brand (Kroger) – with OK-P

SONNY & JOE’S TAHINI DIP: A special Pesach / Kitniyos production of Sonny & Joe’s Tahini Dip was produced for Sefardim, and should bear an OU sticker stating, “approved for those who eat kitniyos on Passover”. Some of these containers were mistakenly labeled with a plain OU-P Kosher for Passover sticker without specifying that the product is kitniyos.

BIANCO AZZURO MOSCATO WINE is labeled with a plain OU and it is not certified for Pesach. Even the bottles that have the letters “OUP” as part of the production code are not certified for Pesach.

NATUREMADE MELATONIN: Pesach Guides, including Star-K / Rabbi Bess lists, indicate that NatureMade Melatonin is chometz free. Please note that this refers only to NatureMade Melatonin swallow tablets. Naturemade also makes a product called “VitaMelts Sleep” Fast Dissolve tablets made with melatonin, which contains chometz and should not be used on Pesach.

BABY / CHILDREN PRODUCTS:. For the convenience of our readers, we list here a summary of some commonly used Baby / Children products approved for Pesach by Rabbi Bess / Star-K:
Advil Infants’ Drops – Dye-Free White Grape
Advil Children’s Suspension – all flavors
Bayer Children’s Aspirin
Motrin Infants’ Drops – Dye-Free Berry
Motrin Children’s Suspension – Bubble Gum
Tylenol Infants’ Oral Suspension – Grape
Tylenol Children’s Suspension – Cherry
Tylenol Children’s Cold + Flu Oral Suspension
Benadryl Children’s Allergy Dye-Free Liquid – Bubble Gum
Benadryl Children’s Allergy Chewables
Miralax Powder

By Vaad Harabbonim on April 14, 2019

*We recommend using Tanimura & Antle (Aldi) dated 4/4/19 or 4/9/19.

Many other brands are currently highly infested. If using other brands, repeat steps 2-4.

By Vaad Harabbonim on April 2, 2019

The Vaad Harabbonim presents the online PesachGram.

The PesachGram may take a moment to load and appear. Click on the bottom right icon for fullscreen.

A PDF version of the PesachGram is also available for view and download:

PesachGram PDF

By Vaad Harabbonim on March 27, 2019

2019-3-27 Freeda Pesach 5779 available for download.

By Vaad Harabbonim on March 22, 2019

2019-3-22 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

GEFEN YELLOW POPCORN KERNELS with Best By dates of 12/10/20, 12/17/20 and 12/24/20 have been found to be infested, and should not be used.

TAKAOKAYA SUSHI NORI is certified Kosher only when bearing the Star-K symbol. Some packages are not certified and have the Star-K covered by a sticker, due to infestation. All brands of nori require reliable certification due to serious infestation issues, and also due to a concern of being processed on non-Kosher
equipment.

BELL PEPPERS FROM ISRAEL (red, orange and yellow) are being sold locally at Kroger, Trader Joe’s, Holiday Market and other stores, and require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. The brands include Gilad, NatureFresh, MOR, Pero Family Farms, and other brands, both regular and organic. Check the fine print on the package, or the sticker on each individual pepper, for the country of origin.

BETTER MADE ORIGINAL POTATO CHIPS in 10 oz. bags with a Use By date of 10 AUG 2019, and a Lot # of 62090431442 thru 62090431520 or 85100431442 thru 85100431520, may actually contain Cheddar and Sour Cream Potato Chips, which contain dairy ingredients. They may be returned to the place of purchase for a full refund. Consumers with questions may contact Better Made Snack Foods at 313-925-4774.

WEGMANS SEA SALT & CRACKED PEPPER FLAVORED KETTLE COOKED POTATO CHIPS contains whey, a dairy ingredient, as listed in the ingredients and allergens statements, and is certified OU Dairy. Some bags mistakenly bear a plain OU symbol without the D.

BOULEVARD BREWERY BEERS: The Vaad HaKashruth of Greater Kansas City has announced that effective immediately, all beers from Boulevard Brewery should be considered Dairy Equipment, even if the Kashrus logo on the label does not state DE.

SHINER BREWER’S PRIDE ROSÉ PALE ALE, a new limited edition product from Spoetzl Brewery, is brewed with grape must and is not Kosher. All other Shiner beers remain K-COR certified.

OUR HOUSE brand CANNED SWEET POTATOES in #10 cans (industrial size) bear an unauthorized stamped Star-K.  This product is not certified. All canned vegetable products, both consumer and industrial, require reliable certification due to the common industry practice of producing non-Kosher products on the same equipment.

PILLSBURY UNBLEACHED ALL PURPOSE FLOUR in 5 lb. bags with Best If Used By dates of APR 19 2020 and APR 20 2020 have been recalled due to possible Salmonella contamination. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls/ucm633320.htm or at 800-767-4466.
The FDA and CDC remind consumers that flour is not a “ready to eat” ingredient. Flour is made from wheat that is grown outdoors where bacteria are often present, and flour is typically not treated to kill bacteria during the normal milling process. Anything made with flour must be cooked or baked before eating. Salmonella is killed by heat through baking, frying, sautéing or boiling products made with flour. All surfaces, hands and utensils should be properly cleaned after contact with flour or dough.

By Vaad Harabbonim on March 5, 2019

2019-3-3 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

MANY PRODUCTS ARE MADE IN ASSORTED VARIETIES, and they may not all have the same Kosher status. Some may be Pareve, some
Dairy, some Meat, and some non-Kosher. This can cause mistakes, and the consumer must be very vigilant in checking every label for its
correct status. Following are some common examples:
TABATCHNICK SOUPS and BROTHS: Many are Star-K Pareve, some are Star-D Dairy (not Cholov Yisroel), and some are Star-K Meat.
Note that New England Potato Soup is dairy and bears Star-D Dairy, while Old Fashioned Potato Soup is pareve. Note also that
Frenchman’s Onion Soup and Wilderness Wild Rice Soup contain meat and bear Star-K Meat, even though there is no hint of meat in
their names.
IMAGINE ORGANIC SOUPS and BROTHS: Some are OU Pareve, some are OU Meat, and many are not Kosher. Note that “Kosher Free
Range Chicken Broth” is Kosher and bears OU Meat, while regular “Free Range Chicken Broth” is not Kosher.
NEAR EAST RICE MIXES and COUSCOUS MIXES: Most are plain OU (i.e. Pareve), some are OU-D (Dairy), and some are OU Meat or
OU-M (= Meat). Note that Pearled Couscous Basil & Herb contains dairy ingredients and bears OU-D.
LIPTON RECIPE SECRETS SOUP MIXES (in Onion, Vegetable and Ranch varieties) and LIPTON SOUP SECRETS NOODLE SOUP – CHICKEN
FLAVOR are produced in both Israel and the U.S. The Israel product says “Kosher” in large letters on the front and bears an OU symbol,
and “OU Meat” on the Noodle variety. The U.S. product is not Kosher and bears no Kosher marking. At some stores the Kosher and
non-Kosher versions may both be found on the same shelves. Check every box carefully.
The MK SYMBOL on SEASON’S CHOICE frozen BROCCOLI FLORETS and CALIFORNIA MEDLEY sold at Aldi, and on TRADER JOE’S
ORGANIC OLIVE OIL SPRAY, is an MK in a circle and the word Kosher in Hebrew and English inside the circle, to the right of the K. This is
not the MK symbol of Montreal or Manchester, but is from Monterrey, Mexico, and is not recommended.
HURST’S HAMBEENS BEAN SOUP mixes bear an OK symbol on the bag, and contain seasoning packets labeled as Beef Flavor, Ham
Flavor, Bacon Flavor, etc. Similarly, OUR FAMILY 16 BEAN SOUP MIX bears an OU on the bag, and contains a Ham Seasoning packet.
Although the packets do not bear a Kosher symbol, they are nevertheless certified Kosher and Pareve, despite their non-Kosher
sounding names.
CHAI TEA LATTE SIGNS AT 7-ELEVEN STORES on the hot beverage dispenser machine bear an unauthorized OK symbol. The OK
does not certify any 7-Eleven retail locations or products prepared on premises. (We have covered up the OK symbol at the four local
7-Eleven stores that are K-COR certified for Kosher slurpees.)
J. HIGGS brand CORNIES CHILI CHEESE FLAVORED CORN CHIPS sold at Save-A-Lot bears an unauthorized Kof-K symbol on some bags.
This product is not Kof-K certified. J. Higgs brand Cornies in Original and Dippin’ varieties, however, are certified Kosher Pareve when
bearing the Kof-K symbol.
GREAT VALUE “LIGHT” CRANBERRY JUICE COCKTAIL sold at Walmart bears an unauthorized OU symbol on some containers. This
product contains grape juice and is not OU certified. Regular and Diet Great Value Cranberry Juice Cocktail drinks, however, are OU
certified when bearing the OU symbol.
MIA PIZZA CRUSTS KITS are currently not certified as Kosher, due to a change in the production process, and no longer bear the MK
[Montreal] symbol.
SAMUEL ADAMS CHOCOLATE BOCK BEER is now Star-D Dairy certified (not Cholov Yisroel) and will bear the Star-D symbol. Bottles
bearing old labels that do not bear any symbol are also Kosher Dairy. This beer contains dairy ingredients and should not be consumed
with meat or after eating meat. Chocolate Bock is currently included in a Samuel Adams Winter Classics Variety Pack, which contains
other Star-K certified beers that are pareve.
MOCHA MIX ORIGINAL NON-DAIRY COFFEE CREAMER in the past was certified OK Pareve, and older containers that still state
OK Pareve are pareve. This product is now under OU supervision, and new containers are labeled OU-D due to dairy equipment,
because of the company’s desire to produce the product on a dairy production line. The OU-D labeled product may be eaten after meat,
but may not be cooked or eaten with meat. The company may reconsider its decision, based on consumer response, and consumers
who wish the product to remain pareve can contact the company at http://bayvalleyfoods.com/contact_us.php or 800-236-1119.
BACHMAN TWIST PRETZELS are certified OU Pareve. However, some 10 oz. bags with UPC # 0-77817-10580-8 and expiration date
code JUL2219 9 ED mistakenly contain Butter Twist Pretzels that are dairy, and have therefore been recalled. Details are available at
http://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm632095.htm or 800-367-7629.
LIDL brand WHITE BEAN NACHO BEAN CHIPS was mistakenly labeled as Kof-K Pareve on some bags. In fact, this product contains dairy
ingredients and is certified as Kof-K Dairy.
THE FRESH MARKET brand PANCAKE & WAFFLE MIX in Buttermilk, Multigrain and Wild Blueberry flavors bears an unauthorized Star-K
symbol. These products are actually Kosher Dairy, not Cholov Yisroel.
SHATNEZ ALERT – A number of UGG FOOTWEAR PRODUCTS have been found to contain shatnez. It is recommended that all
Ugg footwear (shoe, slippers, boots) be tested for Shatnez at a qualified Shatnez laboratory.
PRODUCT RECALL – Three additional lots of INFANTS’ IBUPROFEN CONCENTRATED ORAL SUSPENSION Berry Flavor/Dye-Free under
the brand names CVS Health [CVS stores], Equate [Walmart] and Family Wellness [Family Dollar], have been added to the December recall, due
to potential higher concentrations of ibuprofen that may cause injury to infants. Details are available at
https://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm630112.htm or 732-940-0358.

By Vaad Harabbonim on January 30, 2019

2019-1-30 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

MANDARINS FROM ISRAEL are now being sold at local stores (including AMC/Mehadrin brand 5 lb. bags at Costco, and Jaffa brand 5 lb. boxes at Plum Market), and state on the label “Produce of Israel”. They require taking of Terumos and Maaseros (without a bracha).

OREO SANDWICH COOKIES: The OU has again updated its information, as of January 8, regarding the dairy status of OU-D Oreo cookies. Three more items have been added to the dairy equipment list. For the convenience of our readers, the entire list is quoted here:

“At the present time the following Oreo Sandwich Cookies do not contain dairy ingredients, though they are manufactured on dairy equipment:

• Original Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Double Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Original Mega Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Mini Original Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Chocolate Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Golden Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Golden Oreo Double Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Golden Oreo Mega Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Triple Double Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Sandwich Cookies**
• Oreo Cinnamon Bun Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Lemon Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Mint Creme Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies
• Winter Oreo Sandwich Cookies

[** Note: We have confirmed with the OU that “Oreo Thins Sandwich Cookies” in the above list also includes the following varieties:

• Oreo Thins Chocolate Creme Chocolate Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Golden Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Lemon Creme Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Mint Creme Chocolate Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Bites Chocolate Sandwich Cookies (only regular; not “Fudge Dipped”)

We have also confirmed that Oreo Limited Edition “The Most Stuf” Chocolate Sandwich Cookies are dairy equipment.]

The equipment is not necessarily cleaned before the production of these cookies, and there may be a small amount of dairy residue present. Nonetheless, the dairy component would be minimal, and from a Halachic perspective, the dairy residue is nullified (botel bishishim) and of no consequence. The bottom line of all this is that these cookies may be consumed after meat and poultry, but not simultaneously.

Please bear in mind that the manufacturer may choose in the future to reformulate these products and add dairy ingredients. Since these products already bear OUD symbols, formulation changes would not be reflected in the OUD logo. As such, we recommend that consumers check regularly with our office to confirm the status of these items.”

New OREO CHOCOLATE CANDY BARS in several varieties are manufactured in Europe, and are not certified Kosher and do not bear an OU symbol.

AGED CHEESE: The following items at JERUSALEM PIZZA contain aged cheese, which requires a six hour waiting period before eating meat: Bread Sticks (“Jerusalem Bread”), Cheese Sticks, Italian Bread, Eggplant Parmesan, “Chicken” Parmesan, Caesar Salad, and Caesar Wrap.

ASSURED brand VITAMIN C SUPPLEMENT DROPS sold at Dollar Tree stores, which currently bears a plain OU, is Kosher but is produced on dairy equipment. Future productions may not bear any OU symbol; check each label.

DAVE’S SWEET TOOTH TOFFEE in all flavors contains dairy ingredients, as listed in the ingredient statement, but mistakenly does not state Dairy on older packaging. Newer packaging bears the K-COR Dairy symbol.

CLANCY’S WAVY POTATO CHIPS (unseasoned) in 10 oz. bags (UPC# 0 41498 16306 8) with a Best If Used By date code of FEB 22 19 1A6, sold at Aldi, bears a plain OU but may mistakenly contain dairy Sour Cream & Onion seasoning. This product has been recalled, and may be returned to Aldi for a full refund. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm629293.htm

CAMPBELL’S SLOW COOKER BUFFALO CHICKEN SAUCE that bears a plain OU is Kosher, but contains dairy ingredients, as listed in the ingredient statement. . [The OU alert regarding “Slow Cooker Buffalo Wing Sauce” actually refers to this product.] Please be aware that previous versions of this product did not bear an OU, including some that list chicken stock and chicken fat in the ingredients, and they have been found still on store shelves. In addition, future productions may not bear any OU symbol. Every package should be checked.

TRADER JOE’S PITA CHIPS with the Wisconsin Kosher symbol was mistakenly labeled “Pas Yisroel.” This product is Kosher but is not Pas Yisroel.

SHOPRITE TRADING COMPANY brand WHITE SPARKLING GRAPE JUICE and RED SPARKLING GRAPE JUICE mistakenly bear the OU symbol. These products are not certified and are being withdrawn from the market.

NOOSA YOGHURT is no longer OU certified due to a recent ingredient change. Containers still bearing the OU-D symbol were produced before this change. Containers bearing a KD are not recommended. Stores currently have a mixture of OU-D and KD containers; please check each container carefully.

PRODUCT RECALL

GOLD MEDAL UNBLEACHED ALL PURPOSE FLOUR in 5 lb. bags (UPC# 0-16000-19610-0) with a Better If Used By date of 20APR2020KC has been recalled due to potential presence of Salmonella contamination. Consumers who have had to discard products covered by this recall may contact General Mills Consumer Relations at 1-800-230-8103 or visit www.generalmills.com/flour for a replacement coupon. This recall affects only this one date code of Gold Medal Unbleached Flour 5 lb. bags. All other types of Gold Medal Flour are not affected by this recall.

The FDA and CDC remind consumers that flour is not a “ready to eat” ingredient. Flour is made from wheat that is grown outdoors where bacteria are often present, and flour is typically not treated to kill bacteria during the normal milling process. Anything made with flour must be cooked or baked before eating. Salmonella is killed by heat through baking, frying, sautéing or boiling products made with flour. All surfaces, hands and utensils should be properly cleaned after contact with flour or dough.

By Vaad Harabbonim on January 1, 2019

2018-12-31 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

OREO SANDWICH COOKIES: The OU has recently published the following updated information regarding the dairy status of Oreo cookies. Five items have been added to the list:

“At the present time the following Oreo Sandwich Cookies do not contain dairy ingredients, though they are manufactured on dairy equipment:

• Original Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Double Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Original Mega Stuf Sandwich Cookies
• Mini Original Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Chocolate Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Golden Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Triple Double Oreo Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Thins Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Cinnamon Bun Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Lemon Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Mint Creme Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
• Oreo Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies

The equipment is not necessarily cleaned before the production of these cookies, and there may be a small amount of dairy residue present. Nonetheless, the dairy component would be minimal, and from a Halachic perspective, the dairy residue is nullified (botel bishishim) and of no consequence. The bottom line of all this is that these cookies may be consumed after meat and poultry, but not simultaneously.

Please bear in mind that the manufacturer may choose in the future to reformulate these products and add dairy ingredients. Since these products already bear OUD symbols, formulation changes would not be reflected in the OUD logo. As such, we recommend that consumers check regularly with our office to confirm the status of these items.”

BIMBO BAKERIES, owner of many brands of bread and buns, including ARNOLD, BEEFSTEAK, BIMBO, BROWNBERRY, FREIHOFER’S, OROWEAT, SARA LEE, STROEHMANN and others, plus many regional supermarket / private label brands, has made a decision to remove Kosher certification from many of its products, in order to have the flexibility to produce them on non-certified factory lines. Therefore, many products that in the past bore the OU or Kof-K symbol no longer do, or will stop certification at some point in the future. Every package should be carefully checked for the symbol on every purchase. Consumers can voice their concerns to Bimbo at 800-984-0989.

No changes are planned at this time for Thomas and Entenmann’s products, or for Arnold Rye Bread and Levy’s Rye Bread. They continue to be certified as in the past, when bearing the OU symbol.

NIBBLES & NUTS GIFT BASKETS and TRAYS (Oak Park/Farmington Hills, MI) bear a sticker on some packages stating “All products in this box or basket are Kosher”. Please be aware that these baskets and trays have no Kosher certification and are prepared without any Kashrus supervision, and therefore should not be accepted as Kosher.

PITA CHIPS from SOPHIA’S BAKING CO. in 7 oz. clear plastic containers are not Kosher and do not bear the K-COR symbol. Only those Sophia’s products that bear the K-COR are Kosher (not Pas Yisroel).

DANNON YOGURT: Only a limited number of Dannon yogurt varieties are OU certified, when bearing the OU symbol. The products listed below are OU certified, but the OU symbol was mistakenly omitted. The OU is being ink-jetted as part of the date code of these certified products. This applies only to the UPC #’s listed below. There are very similar flavors of Dannon yogurt that are not OU certified that have different UPC numbers. Please check each container carefully.

• Single Serve Coffee (3663201374)
• Single Serve Vanilla (3663200101)
• Single Serve Plain (3663200100)
• Single Serve 4pk (3663201827)

GREENFIELD NOODLE CO. has exhausted its stock of Yoshon flour, and will now begin using Chodosh flour. New product will not state “Yoshon” next to the expiration date.

DRIED GOJI BERRIES: Kashrus Agencies and consumers have been finding a high number of insects in dried goji berries.
Until further notice, dried goji berries are not recommended, even when bearing Kosher certification.

PRODUCT RECALLS

Three lots of INFANTS’ IBUPROFEN CONCENTRATED ORAL SUSPENSION Berry Flavor/Dye-Free under the brand names CVS Health, Equate and Family Wellness, sold at CVS, Walmart and Family Dollar stores respectively, have been recalled due to potential higher concentrations of ibuprofen that may cause injury to infants. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm627780.htm or 732-940-0358.

INSPIRED ORGANICS brand of ALMOND BUTTER, PEANUT BUTTER, SUNFLOWER BUTTER and TAHINI BUTTER, distributed by Lipari Foods, Warren, MI, have been recalled due to potential contamination of Listeria monocytogenes. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm628989.htm or 800-729-3354.

ACHDUT, ACHVA, BARON’S, PEPPERWOOD, S&F and SOOM brands of TAHINI with lot numbers 18-097 to 18-141, or with expiration dates April 7 to May 21, 2020, have been recalled due to possible Salmonella contamination. For the Baron’s brand the recalled exp. date is 5/5/2021, and for Soom brand Chocolate Sweet Tahini Halva Spread it is 071318CH. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm626750.htm
and https://www.soomfoods.com/tahini-recall/soom-recall-statement-nov-28-2018/ or at 972-3-9068020.

By Vaad Harabbonim on December 17, 2018

BELL PEPPERS FROM ISRAEL (red, yellow and orange) are now being sold at many local stores (Meijer, Kroger, Trader Joe’s, Holiday Market, etc.) and require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. They include Sunset brand, Gilad, Arava, Field & Farm, Mor, NatureFresh Farms, Pero Family Farms, Mucci Farms, Glad and other brands of colored peppers, both regular and organic. Consumers should carefully check the fine print on the package, or the sticker on individual peppers sold loose, for the country of origin. The same brand may have some peppers from Israel and some from other countries, all in the same produce bin, so each package or pepper should be checked. Details of the tithing procedure can be found (courtesy of cRc Chicago) at http://kshr.us/cRcMaaser

One should always be careful when buying produce to check the sticker, bag label or original case for the country of origin. Some additional examples of Israeli produce commonly found in the U.S. include tomatoes, carrots, citrus fruit (oranges, grapefruit, lemons, mandarins, clementines and pomelos), persimmons (“Sharon Fruit”), mangos, dates, dill and parsley.

GENERAL MILLS new PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE BLASTED SHREDS shredded wheat cereal is not Kosher approved and does not bear an OU. (Cinnamon Toast Crunch Blasted Shreds, a discontinued variety, is also not approved.)

By Vaad Harabbonim on December 4, 2018

One 16 oz. can of BUSH’S BEST HONEY SWEET BAKED BEANS with no OU and containing bacon was mistakenly sold this week at One Stop Kosher Food Market and has not been accounted for. Please check your products.

Only Bush’s Best Vegetarian Baked Beans (labeled in Canada as “Sweet & Tangy Vegetarian Baked Beans “) is Kosher and bears the OU symbol. Always check the label of every can.

By Vaad Harabbonim on December 3, 2018

2018-11-28 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

Mexican Coke and Pepsi information:

• COCA-COLA PRODUCTS FROM MEXICO, including Coca-Cola, Sprite, Fanta and Fresca products, are not OU certified and are not recommended.

• PEPSI PRODUCTS FROM MEXICO, including Pepsi, Mountain Dew (except Kickstart) and Mist Twist products, are Kosher. (Mountain Dew Kickstart energy drink is Kosher only when bearing the letters XG in the middle of the second line of the inkjet code on bottom of the can, or when bearing a reliable certification on the label.)

BELL PEPPERS FROM ISRAEL (red, yellow and orange) will soon begin appearing in U.S. stores, and will require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. Consumers should carefully check the fine print on the package, or the sticker on individual peppers sold loose, for the country of origin. Often the same brand has some peppers from Israel and some from other locations, so each individual package or pepper should be checked. Details of the tithing procedure can be found (courtesy of cRc Chicago) at http://kshr.us/cRcMaaser

One should always be careful when buying produce to check the sticker, bag label or original case for the country of origin. Some additional examples of Israeli produce commonly found in the U.S. include tomatoes, carrots, citrus fruit (oranges, grapefruit, lemons, mandarins, clementines and pomelos), persimmons (“Sharon Fruit”), mangos, dates, dill and parsley.

TRADER JOE’S ROASTED GORGONZOLA CRACKERS bears an OU-D, and lists animal rennet in the ingredients. The OU has informed us that this product is Kosher and does not contain animal rennet; the listing is in error.

RICOLA COUGH / THROAT DROPS: Only the following five varieties are recommended by the cRc (Chicago Rabbinical Council). They do not require a certification sticker: Honey Herb, Lemon Mint – regular and Sugar Free, Mountain Herb – Sugar Free, and Natural Herb (Original). — Please note that this does not include Ricola Swiss Herbal Sweets.

UNGER’S BARLEY, CHICKPEAS & BEANS: Unger’s has issued a notice regarding infestation found in certain batches of these products. It is posted on the K-COR website at http://cordetroit.com/

GORDON CHOICE FRUIT COCKTAIL IN EXTRA LIGHT SYRUP (UPC# 093901225306) and GORDON CHOICE FRUIT COCKTAIL IN PEAR JUICE (UPC# 093901610232) in #10 foodservice size cans, distributed by Gordon Food Service, mistakenly bear an OU symbol on the outer case. The individual cans do not bear an OU (but bear a different symbol), and contain carmine, an insect derivative, as listed in the ingredients. These products are not OU certified. — Please note that Gordon Choice Mixed Fruit in Light Syrup (UPC#093901118264) and Gordon Choice Mixed Fruit in Pear Juice (UPC #093901610348) are OU certified and correctly bear the OU symbol on the cans.

CONCORD GRAPE JUICE CONCENTRATE and WHITE GRAPE JUICE CONCENTRATE distributed by Coloma Frozen Foods Inc., Coloma Michigan, bear an unauthorized cRc symbol on the label. These items are not certified Kosher.

CHESHNI FOODS PRODUCTS are neither OU nor Star-K certified. Some Cheshni Foods products, including black olives, dried fruit, tea biscuits and others, bear an unauthorized OU or Star-K symbol.

“LUCKY LEAF PREMIUM CARAMEL APPLE FRUIT FILLING OR TOPPING” in 9.5 lb. foodservice size pails contains dairy ingredients, as listed on the label, but mistakenly bears a plain OU without a D on some labels. — Please note that the 21 oz. retail size can of “Lucky Leaf Premium Caramel Apple Fruit Filling & Topping” does not contain dairy ingredients, and is correctly labeled with a plain OU.

BENTON’S SKELETON CHOCOLATE COOKIE KIT, sold at Aldi in the U.S., mistakenly bears a COR (Canada) symbol without a Dairy designation. This product is certified Dairy.

WILD COAST FRUIT CO. Dark Chocolate Blueberries and Dark Chocolate Cranberries mistakenly bear the Kosher Check Pareve logo. They are certified as Dairy. Consumers finding this product are asked to contact BC (British Columbia) Kosher at 604- 731-1803 or at info@koshercheck.org

RACCONTO PASTA SAUCES have OU certification on several, but not all, varieties; check each label. Note that the Vodka variety contains cream and states OU Dairy.

DUNCAN HINES is recalling certain batches of its Classic Butter Golden, Classic White, Classic Yellow and Signature Confetti Cake cake mixes with Best If Used By dates ranging from March 7 through March 13, 2019, due to possible salmonella contamination. Details are available at https://www.prnewswire.com/news/Conagra+Brands or 888-299-7646.

BARCELONA NUT CO. is recalling certain batches of its Roasted and Salted Pistachios (in-shell) with expiration dates ranging from 9/17 through 10/10/2019, due to possible salmonella contamination. Details are available from michelleo@barcelonanut.com (e-mail) or 443.552.5366.

By Vaad Harabbonim on November 26, 2018

UNGER’S Public Notice

Unger’s Alert

By Vaad Harabbonim on October 23, 2018

2018-10-22 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

KELLOGG’S CEREALS: The following “Limited Edition” Kellogg’s cereals do not bear a K or OU symbol and are not certified
Kosher, due to the addition of marshmallows (which contain non-Kosher gelatin): Apple Jacks with Spooky Marshmallows,
Chocolate Frosted Flakes with Spooky Marshmallows, and Froot Loops with Spooky Marshmallows. Other Kellogg’s cereals
that contain marshmallows or gelatin are also not certified, including Frosted Mini-Wheats (all varieties), Rice Krispies Treats cereal, and some others.
Kellogg’s cereals that are Kosher bear an OU or OU-D symbol on newer packages. Older packages that bear a K or KD are also OU
approved, except for Kellogg’s Mini-Wheats Unfrosted Cereal, which is not OU approved even when the package bears a K.

FIBER ONE BROWNIES and NATURE VALLEY SOFT BAKED OATMEAL SQUARES: Due to changes in production procedures, the following Fiber One Brownie varieties and Nature Valley Soft-Baked Oatmeal Squares varieties will no longer be certified by the OU, and will not bear the OU symbol. Products in stores that still bear the OU are certified and were manufactured prior to this change.
• Chocolate Fudge Brownie
• Mint Fudge Brownie
• Lemon Brownie
• Chocolate Chip Brownie
• Cinnamon Coffee Cake Brownie
• Orange Cranberry Cake Brownie
• Birthday Cake Brownie
• Pumpkin Brownie
• Strawberries & Cream Brownie
• Peanut Butter Soft-Baked Oatmeal Squares
• Banana Dark Chocolate Soft-Baked Oatmeal Squares
• Blueberry Soft-Baked Oatmeal Squares
• Cinnamon Brown Sugar Soft-Baked Oatmeal Squares

BREADS & BUNS from many national and major brands [such as Arnold, Beefsteak, Bimbo, Brownberry, Bunny,
Freihofer’s, Sara Lee and others] have Kosher certification on some products. Consumers should be aware that in most
cases, only some varieties are certified, while others are not and do not bear any Kosher marking. In addition, some
companies have many plants, of which some have reliable certification, and others may have an unreliable certification or
none at all. Consequently, even the same type of bread may have reliable certification on some packages, and on other
packages have unreliable or no certification. It is important to always check every package label for a reliable certification symbol.

STREIT’S EGG NOODLES (all sizes): Due to improper handling after product was manufactured, a number of bags have
been found to be infested. Any bag with a Best Buy date of December 2019 or earlier should be returned to the store for a
refund.

GOLD MEDAL BREAD FLOUR and GOLD MEDAL ALL PURPOSE FLOUR from the KC mill, in all sizes of bags, are both
made from winter wheat and are always Yoshon. [This is an update to the information in Rabbi Herman’s Guide to
Chodosh.] The KC mill is indicated by the letters KC after the year in the second line of the code on top of the bag. [For
those makpid on malt, the cut-off date code is 25 JUN 2020.] Gold Medal Whole Wheat Flour, even from KC mill, is
Yoshon only if the date code is prior to 1 FEB 2019.

VERA’S KOSHER CUISINE is no longer under K-COR supervision. (This is not due to any Kashrus violations or issues.)

KETTLE brand KRINKLE CUT WASABI RANCH POTATO CHIPS in the 5 oz. size has been incorrectly labeled with a
Kof-K Parve symbol. This product contains natural flavors that contain milk, and should be treated as Kof-K Dairy.

365 EVERYDAY VALUE WHITE CORN TORTILLA CHIPS-SALTED sold at Whole Foods in 20 oz. “Party Size” bags
bearing a plain OU symbol (UPC code 9948247145), with Best-By dates of January 24 or January 25, 2019, has been
recalled because it may mistakenly contain other snack mix products. All affected product has been removed from store
shelves. (The other snack mix products contain dairy. We are awaiting information regarding their Kosher or non-Kosher
status.)

SEASON’S CHOICE frozen BROCCOLI FLORETS and SEASON’S CHOICE frozen CALIFORNIA MEDLEY sold at Aldi,
products of Mexico, bear an MK that is not the MK symbol of Montreal or Manchester, and are not recommended.

FUTTER’S NUT BUTTERS PRODUCTS are not certified by EarthKosher. They bear an unauthorized EarthKosher symbol.

ROASTED SEAWEED SUSHI NORI distributed by Takarakom Inc. bears an unauthorized Kof-K symbol. This product is not
Kof-K certified

SYSCO YASOU FETA CHEESE VINAIGRETTE DRESSING is not OU certified. Some one gallon containers of this product
were labeled with an unauthorized OU symbol.

By Vaad Harabbonim on September 7, 2018

2018-9-6 Kashrus Alerts PDF available for download.

PAS YISROEL: The K-COR wishes to remind the Kosher consumer of the accepted custom to be stringent on Pas Yisroel during Aseres Yemei T’shuva. Please be advised that many K-COR establishments produce or sell some bread and cake products that are not Pas Yisroel. Please ask the Mashgiach or call the K-COR office for details regarding specific establishments.

The following establishments are totally Pas Yisroel: Zeman’s, Bake Station, Pizza Stop, Prime 10, and Soul Café – restaurant only, not catering.

BLACK EYED PEAS are often infested and require careful checking.

B’gan brand of dried black eyed peas has been found to be infested and has been recalled from stores. If you have purchased this product, please return it to the store for a full refund. This does not affect any other B’gan varieties of beans.

The following is the Star-K procedure for checking dried or canned black eyed peas. (Note: canned peas and beans always require Kashrus certification for general Kashrus concerns.)

Dried or Canned Black Eyed Peas

Dried peas should be boiled in water. After coming to a boil, turn off the flame, cover the pot and allow it sit for three hours. The beans will swell and the peel becomes translucent. For canned peas, you can check them straight out of the can, no need to boil first. Then take 10-15 beans on the palm of one hand and check for holes or a dark-colored stain, which may indicate an insect underneath the thin peel. If there is a dark spot on the peel, remove the thin skin and check if there is a cavity with a bug in it. (The black “eye” spot is not a sign of infestation. Similarly, orange colored stains on the surface are not signs of infestation.) If no insects are found, the entire bag/can may be used.

[For those who prefer not to rely on checking, some Poskim advise that the custom can be fulfilled without eating the item, by placing it on the table and looking at it.]

BODEK FROZEN BLUEBERRIES with Sell By dates of February 2020 and May 2020, and Bodek frozen Cranberry Blueberry Blend with a Sell By date of February 2020, have been found to be infested, and may returned for a full refund.

NORI SEAWEED SHEETS require reliable Kashrus certification due to a concern of being processed on non-Kosher equipment, and also due to a serious issue of infestation. A number of Nori brands have recently been recalled, although they bear a Kashrus symbol, due to either infestation or unauthorized use of the symbol. The following list was issued by the Star-K:

Recalled Nori Brands as of September 5, 2018

[The lot numbers are usually inkjetted on the bag or package.]

1) Sweet City – Star-K symbol. Two recalled lots: 092520 and 131820
2) China Mehadrin – CRC (Hisachdus) symbol. One recalled lot: 3200/02426 1803 3242618043 2018 5A3B
3) Sushi Metzuyan – Star-K symbol. One recalled lot: 121919
4) Nantong Huaxin Seaweed – All bear an unauthorized Kof-K symbol. Should be considered not Kosher.
5) Ushia Sushi – All bear an unauthorized Star-K symbol. Should be considered not Kosher.
6) Sushi Maven – Volover symbol. ALL lots recalled EXCEPT two:
a. Best by Date: 09/30/2019 may be used.
b. Best by Date: 01/10/2019 may be used.