KROGER SWEET & MESQUITE BBQ POTATO CHIPS with a plain OU in 17 oz. Party Size bags (UPC 0111100320101), with the specific lot code Best If Used By MAY 12 20 2B5 and time stamped 18:50 to 20:55, have been recalled because they actually contain Cheddar and Sour Cream Potato Chips which contain milk, and are certified OU Dairy. For more information contact https://www.kroger.com/topic/recall-alerts-3 or 905-669-6072 x 227.
STREIT’S MINESTRONE CANNED SOUP 15 oz. with a Best By date of Jan. 2023 is not Yoshon certified until after Pesach 5780. All other Streit’s products certified under the Kof-K are certified as Yoshon.
New COCA-COLA ENERGY drinks in 12 oz. cans, in Regular, Zero Sugar, Cherry, and Zero Sugar Cherry varieties, are OU certified and bear the OU symbol engraved into the top lid of the can.
PEPSI-COLA 1893 ORIGINAL COLA and PEPSI-COLA 1893 GINGER COLA (available at Amazon and eBay), and PEPSI BERRY, PEPSI LIME and PEPSI MANGO sodas, all in 12 oz. cans, are Kosher. (They do not require a Kashrus symbol.)
PRE-PESACH SHOPPING ADVICE: When shopping for Pesach products, each individual label should always be checked for Pesach certification. Consumers are cautioned not to take for granted that a product is Kosher for Pesach simply because it is in the Kosher for Pesach section of their store, or because a “Kosher for Pesach” sign is posted. Each year there are numerous instances, even in Jewish stores, of non-Pesach products mistakenly being mixed in with Pesach products, usually because their labels are almost identical. This occurs frequently with Telma soup mixes and cubes, Lieber’s dressings and Coat ‘n Bake coatings, various brands of frozen chopped liver and kishke, and Osem, Gefen, Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and other brands of products that have both Pesach and non-Pesach versions of the same products with similar labels.
Storekeepers, likewise, should not take for granted that everything received in their Pesach shipment, even from a Jewish distributor, is indeed Pesach certified; non-Pesach products are frequently inadvertently mixed in. There have also been instances where the outsides of cases were marked Kosher for Pesach, but the products inside were not. Each individual label must always be checked for Pesach certification.
Some brands, e.g. Osem, do not bear the same certification on all of their products. Each product should be checked for a reliable certification. – In addition, some brands, especially those from Israel, bear more than one certification on a single package, but not all those certifications include approval for Pesach. In particular, the Badatz of Eida Hachareidis symbol often states specifically that its endorsement does not include Pesach. All products should be carefully examined for a reliable Pesach endorsement. – Some products bear a non-Pesach certification printed on the label, and have an added stamp (often on the lid) saying Kosher for Pesach, but with no identification of the certifying organization. These should not be relied upon.