Currently viewing the category: "Kosher Alerts"

PSAK HALACHA regarding status of food prepared with the non-Kosher for Pesach B’GAN UNSALTED MARGARINE SPREAD : The poskim that were consulted have ruled that any food that was made with the margarine in which the margarine is less than 50% of the recipe, may be used for Pesach. No kashering is required. Any unused product should not be used for Pesach.

2021-3-25 Pesach Update PDF

J&J WHIPPED COTTAGE CHEESE in 16 oz. containers with a Best If Used By date of 04/18/21, and J&J SOUR CREAM in 16 oz. containers with a Best If Used By date of 05/05/21, were produced during a special Pesach production. Some of these containers inadvertently do not have Pesach marking, but they are nevertheless Kosher for Pesach.

YODER’S ORANGE JUICE in 52 oz. bottles with a plain OU, that have the letters KFP in the ink jet code on the bottle below the Best By date, are Kosher for Pesach.

Some 16 oz. containers of NATURAL & KOSHER ITALIAN COLLECTION RICOTTA CHEESE with a plain OK-D and no Pesach marking were mistakenly placed in the Pesach section at The Grove [One Stop] for a short time. These containers are not Kosher for Pesach. Please check every container.

SHNEIDER’S MA PUREE MASHED POTATOES with Lot # L185597 is marked as Pareve and Kosher for Pesach, but has been recalled because some packages may contain non-Kosher dairy mashed potatoes. This product with the above lot number should not be used.

2021-3-21 Pesach Update PDF

THE GROVE [ONE STOP] PRE-CHECKED ROMAINE LETTUCE will be produced specially for Pesach later this week (not before Wednesday), and requires special Pesach marking.

HAIN IODIZED SEA SALT, made in Belgium, was mistakenly in the Pesach section at The Grove [One Stop] for a short time. This product contains dextrose which may be chometz. (In Europe, dextrose is produced mainly from wheat fermentation.)

BROWN SUGAR requires Pesach certification or Pesach approval. Brown sugar that bears the Vaad Harabbonim’s K-COR symbol, such as Big Chief and Pioneer brands, is not acceptable for Pesach. Other brands in the Michigan area that bear the K-COR symbol, such as Kroger and Baker’s Corner [Aldi] brands, are also not acceptable for Pesach. The listing of these two brands on page 74 of the OU Pesach Guide refers only to Kroger and Baker’s Corner brands in areas where they bear an OU symbol.

RAW PASTEURIZED ALMONDS, including whole, sliced or slivered (but not blanched, and not ground), that are commercially packaged and do not list any additives or preservatives, are acceptable for Pesach, unless the label states that wheat is present in the same facility.

MA COHEN’S CREAMED FILLET OF HERRING – OU-D that bears Pesach marking (either OU-P or “Kosher for Passover” in a circle below the OU), and the date FEB 22 or FEB 24 stamped on the label, is Cholov Yisroel in all sizes, although the labels do not state Cholov Yisroel. This is a one-time event; no other productions are or will be Cholov Yisroel.

SEVENTH GENERATION DISH LIQUID – OU is acceptable for Pesach without Pesach marking, and is also available in a “Free & Clear” variety, that is ideal for those looking for a fruit / vegetable wash for Pesach with no dyes or fragrances.

BABY / CHILDREN PRODUCTS:. For the convenience of our readers, we list here a summary of some commonly used Baby / Children products approved for Pesach by Rabbi Bess and Star-K or other reliable sources:

Advil Children’s Junior Strength Coated Tablets
Bayer Children’s Aspirin
Benadryl Children’s Allergy liquid and Dye-Free liquid – all flavors
Benadryl Children’s Allergy chewable tablets – Grape
Motrin Children’s Suspension – all flavors
Motrin Infants’ Drops – all flavors
Sudafed PE Children’s Nasal Decongestant – Berry
Sudafed PE Children’s Cold & Cough – Grape
Tylenol Children’s Suspension – all flavors
Tylenol Infants’ Suspension – all flavors
MiraLax Powder

Remember – check every label for Pesach certification!

We wish all our readers a Chag Kosher V’Sameach

The Vaad Harabbonim presents the online PesachGram.

The PesachGram may take a moment to load and appear. Click on the bottom icon on left of frame for fullscreen.

A PDF version of the PesachGram is also available for view and download:

PesachGram PDF


2021-3-5 KosherGram PDF

KEMACH SANDWICH COOKIES (all varieties) that were produced in 2021 are Chodosh, not Yoshon, even if the package states Yoshon. These can be identified by the number 21 at the end of the date code (e.g. 032 21).

ENFAMIL PROSOBEE SOY INFANT FORMULA POWDER has changed from OU Pareve to OU Dairy Equipment.

ORGANIC BITTERSWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS from Z NATURAL FOODS is certified by EarthKosher as Dairy Equipment. Some labels are inadvertently missing the DE designation.

QUAKER BANANAS & CREAM INSTANT OATMEAL sold in Canada was incorrectly labelled without a Dairy designation. This product is certified COR Dairy.

WISE SALSA (sauces) – all varieties: The OU certified many varieties of Wise Salsas. Due to changes at Wise Foods, the OU can no longer certify them, and new jars will not bear the OU symbol. Jars that still bear the OU symbol are certified. Check each jar.

FOOD CLUB RICE MEDLEY WITH HERBS is not OU certified. Some boxes bear an unauthorized OU symbol. If you see this product in the marketplace, please provide details to kosherq@ou.org.

‘100% ORGANIC GLYCERINE’ being sold by ARYAN INTERNATIONAL of Greater Noida, UP, India, with only a Star-K symbol on the label is not authorized. Glycerin from Aryan International is required to display the Rabbi’s Hebrew signature in addition to the Star-K symbol, in order to be certified.

WILTON SPRINKLES RECALL: Wilton Brands has announced a national recall of all lots of six sprinkles products and one kit containing affected sprinkles, because they may contain undeclared milk. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious allergic reaction if they consume these products.
Details are available at www.wilton.com/recall or 800-794-5866.

PRE-PESACH SHOPPING ADVICE

KIRKLAND SIGNATURE BLANCHED ALMOND FLOUR at Costco: Some bags bear a Kof-K Pareve symbol (without Pesach marking), and some bags bear a K type symbol with the words “Certified for Passover”. Both types may be used for Pesach.

BLUE DIAMOND ALMOND FLOUR with a plain OK symbol may be used for Pesach.

GEFEN COCONUT MILK is certified by both the Volover Rav, Rabbi N.E. Teitelbaum, and the OU. The Volover Rav has issued a notice that all Gefen Coconut Milk (Sweetened and Unsweetened) is not Kosher for Pesach, despite the “Kosher for Pesach” print on the label. The OU maintains that this product is acceptable for use on
Pesach when bearing Pesach marking.

GREAT VALUE CONFECTIONERS POWDERED SUGAR (Walmart): Some on-line pictures of this product mistakenly show a UMK-P symbol. This contains corn starch and is not Kosher for Pesach. The actual product does not bear Pesach marking.

2021-2-5 KosherGram PDF

New MOUNTAIN DEW MAJOR MELON SODA, in regular and Zero Sugar varieties, is Kosher in the USA, Canada and Mexico, even without any Kashrus symbol.

KIRKLAND SIGNATURE SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS in the white bag [“51% Cacao, Real Vanilla”, Costco Item #807473], which bears OU-D and does not list any dairy ingredients, was originally only dairy equipment. According to the OU, this status changed during 2020 to actual dairy ingredients, and any product purchased since March 2020 should be considered actual dairy. [Note: This product is being phased out, and is replaced by Costco Item #1331846 in a red bag, which bears OU-D and lists milkfat.]

HIDDEN VALLEY ORIGINAL RANCH SEASONING & SALAD DRESSING MIX in an 8 oz. shaker container contains buttermilk and is certified OU Dairy. Some older containers that may still be found in stores mistakenly bear only a plain OU without the D. Newer containers have been corrected and bear OU-D.

MILANO GIANT LADY FINGERS BISCUITS was incorrectly labeled with a COR DE [dairy equipment] symbol. This product is actually dairy and certified Kosher by COR [Toronto].

LOTUS FOODS HEAT & EAT RICE POUCHES
Scroll K [Denver] certification is being discontinued for the following three Lotus Foods Heat & Eat Rice products which are pre-cooked and sold in pouches:
• Organic White Jasmine & Forbidden Rice Blend Heat & Eat Pouch
• Organic White Jasmine Rice Heat & Eat Pouch
• Organic Brown Jasmine Rice Heat & Eat Pouch
Products that still bear the Scroll K symbol on the pouch are Kosher certified. Kosher certification of Lotus Foods raw rice products will continue.

DON ANECIO brand BALSAMIC VINEGAR and DON ANECIO BALSAMIC VINEGAR GLAZE are sold in the U.S. in retail and bulk packaging, and bear an unauthorized KLBD [London Beth Din] Kosher symbol. These are grape wine based products and are not Kosher. The KLBD symbol on the Don Anecio website is misleading.

AURORA TARALLI BARESI breadsticks in Plain, Black Pepper, Chilli Pepper and Fennel varieties bear an unauthorized MK [Montreal] symbol. In addition, these products have been marked Pareve when they are in fact Dairy.

FORRELLI ARTICHOKES (Allied International Corp.) bear an unauthorized OK symbol.

PRODUCT RECALLS

WEIS QUALITY COOKIES AND CREAM ICE CREAM in 48- ounce containers, with a UPC of 041497-01253 and with a sell by date of 10/28/21, has been recalled because the product may contain extraneous material, specifically metal filling equipment parts. More information is available at 866-999-9347.

LAKE CHAMPLAIN CHOCOLATES has recalled the following milk chocolate products, with specific Best By dates, due to potential foreign objects, specifically brittle plastic pieces.
• Hazelnut Five Star Bar
• Fruit & Nut Five Star Bar
• Almond Five Star Bar
• Granola Five Star Bar
• Organic Milk Chocolate Bar with Sea Salt & Almonds
• Milk Chocolate Almond Bark
• Chocolates of Vermont Green Mountain
These products can be found within a variety of other gift packages, boxes and baskets. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/potential-foreign-object-recall-lake-champlain-chocolates-issues-voluntary-recall-selected-milk or email info@lakechamplainchocolates.com

PREWASHED BRANDS OF ICEBERG GARDEN SALAD and COLESLAW that normally bear OK certification, such as Dole, Kroger brand and Marketside [Walmart], currently do not bear the OK symbol on many bags. Even the same store may have a mixture of some bags with the OK and some without. This is due to increased infestation levels in some batches. Little Salad Bar brand at Aldi currently does bear the OK symbol, but this may change. Check every bag for the Kashrus symbol.

2020-12-28 KosherGram PDF

BELL PEPPERS FROM ISRAEL (red, yellow and orange) are now being sold in U.S. stores, and require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. They are being sold locally at Kroger, Meijer, Aldi and other stores. The brands include Gilad, Sunset, Kroger and others, both regular and organic. Consumers should carefully check the fine print on the package, and the sticker on individual peppers, for the country of origin.

Often the same brand has some peppers from Israel and some from other locations, so each individual package or pepper should be checked. Details of the tithing procedure can be found (courtesy of cRc Chicago) at https://www.crcweb.org/kosher_articles/Terumah_Maaser_Separation_(Dec%202016).pdf
Some additional examples of Israeli produce commonly found in the U.S. include tomatoes, carrots, citrus fruit (oranges, grapefruit, lemons, mandarins, clementines and pomelos), persimmons (“Sharon Fruit”), pomegranates, mangos, dates, dill and parsley. Check the sticker, bag label or original case for the country of origin.

EARTH KOSHER [Rabbi Sholom H. Adler] is an acceptable certification.

ORE-IDA POTATO PRODUCTS: Many, but not all, Ore-Ida frozen potato products are OU certified. Check each product for the OU symbol.

BROWNBERRY STUFFING: Most Brownberry Stuffing is no longer OU certified and does not bear the OU symbol.

HARIBO GUMMI CANDY in the general market contains animal gelatin and is not Kosher. Only special productions that state Distributed by Paskesz, with prominent Kosher marking from Rabbi O.Y. Westheim / Rabbi Shulem Landau printed on the front and back of the package, are Kosher, and are made with Kosher fish gelatin. Some packages found in Israel, and possibly other locations, have a sticker on the back stating in Hebrew “Kosher certified by Chug HaRambam of France”. This product is not Kosher and the sticker is fraudulent. It was applied without Haribo’s knowledge or approval.

Some ARTICHOKE HUMMUS PRODUCTS under the following brands bear an unauthorized KVH symbol; they are not certified: Cedar’s, Shop-Rite Supermarket, Joseph’s, Simply Enjoy, Sprouts Farmers Market, Green Way, Little Salad Bar [Aldi], Wellsley Farms [BJs], Lidl US, Price Chopper.

ENLIGHTENED brand DOUGH BITES, distributed by Beyond Better Foods, are missing the “Dairy” designation from their cRc symbol. These products contain dairy ingredients, as indicated on their ingredient panel. The following products are mislabeled:
Birthday Cake Cookie Dough Bites
Fudge Brownie Dough Bites
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites
Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Bites
Snickerdoodle Cookie Dough Bites

2020-11-23 KosherGram PDF

BELL PEPPERS FROM ISRAEL (red, yellow and orange) will soon begin appearing in U.S. stores, and will require taking of Terumos and Maaseros. Consumers should carefully check the fine print on the package, or the sticker on individual peppers sold loose, for the country of origin. Often the same brand has some peppers from Israel and some from other locations, so each individual package or pepper should be checked. Details of the tithing procedure can be found (courtesy of cRc Chicago) at Instructions for Separating Terumah and Ma’aser .

One should always be careful when buying produce to check the sticker, bag label or original case for the country of origin. Some additional examples of Israeli produce commonly found in the U.S. include tomatoes, carrots, citrus fruit (oranges, grapefruit, lemons, mandarins, clementines and pomelos), persimmons (“Sharon Fruit”), pomegranates, mangos, dates, dill and parsley.

DAKOTA BREAD COMPANY at 6879 Orchard Lake Rd, West Bloomfield, is now under supervision of the Vaad Harabbonim and is certified Pareve and Pas Yisroel.

“KOSHER CHECK”, as found locally on Peanut Delight Peanut Butter sold at Aldi, is the symbol of the Orthodox Rabbinical Council of British Columbia and is acceptable (formerly known as BC Kosher).

TRADER JOE’S ALL NATURAL GLATT KOSHER YOUNG TURKEY that bears the OU and Rabbi Yechiel Babad symbols, and USDA # P-1015, is authorized and is acceptable. Its Kosher status can be further verified by the tiny [difficult to see] engravings in the metal crimp sealing the top of the bag. The upper end of the crimp bears the engraving P1015, and the lower end bears the letters OU and the word Kosher in Hebrew.

Some bags of FRESH EXPRESS ICEBERG GARDEN SALAD found recently in stores do not bear the Star-K symbol. These bags are not Star-K certified and are not recommended. Even the same store may have a mixture of some bags with the Star-K and some without. This may also apply to some store brands that normally bear the Star-K. Check each bag.

KROGER HEARTY VEGETABLE READY TO SERVE SOUP (18.8 oz. can) no longer bears an OU, and is no longer certified.

LOTUS BISCOFF SPREAD, made in Belgium, has Kosher certification only for special productions, and should be accepted only when bearing the Chug Chasam Sofer Bnai Brak symbol printed on the label. Some jars have only “K-Pareve Chug” ink jetted on the side of the unsecured cap, and no Kosher marking on the label. According to our information, the Kashrus status of these jars is questionable.

SLIMFAST KETO FAT BOMB SNACK CRISPS bears an unauthorized OU on some packages. This product is not OU certified.

MAYNARDS SOUR PATCH KIDS FROZEN DESSERT & LEMON SORBET from Nestlé Canada (1.5L tub) bears an unauthorized COR 95 Dairy symbol. This product is not Kosher.

GOOD NEIGHBORS TABOULI SALAD bears an unauthorized KVH Kosher symbol. Although other Good Neighbors products are KVH certified, Tabouli is not certified due to infestation issues.

PENN DUTCH COOKIES of various types, sold by Penn Dutch Cookie & Biscuit LLC, bear an unauthorized OK symbol. These products are not OK certified.

GOLCHIN GIARDINIERA, with a Best Before date of 12/20/2024 or earlier, bears an unauthorized KSA Kosher symbol. This product is not Kosher certified.

PARTANNA VINAIGRETTES (all varieties) are not OU certified. Some bottles bear an unauthorized OU symbol. If you see this product in the marketplace, please provide details to kosherq@ou.org .

WHOLE FOODS MARKET COOKING ORGANIC SEASONING Spice Pouches in the following two varieties are mislabeled:

• Umami Magic Dust bears an unauthorized Scroll K symbol. It is not certified Kosher.
• Lemon Herb with Thyme contains buttermilk, but mistakenly bears a plain Scroll K symbol without the D.

BELMONT frozen PUMPKIN PIE sold at Aldi contains milk powder and whey, but was mistakenly labeled with a plain Kof-K symbol without the D. This product is certified Kof-K Dairy.

TRISCUIT ROSEMARY & JALAPENO WITH CHIA SEEDS CRACKERS contains dairy ingredients and is certified OU Dairy. Some packaging in Canada mistakenly bears only a plain OU symbol without the D.

READY PROTEIN WATER in all varieties contains whey, a dairy ingredient, and is certified OU Dairy. Some labels mistakenly bear only a plain OU symbol without the D.

ARCTIC ZERO NON-DAIRY FROZEN DESSERT is certified OK Dairy. Some packages of the following varieties mistakenly bear a plain OK without the D: Brownie Blast, Cherry Chocolate Chunk and Cookie Dough Chunk.

PRODUCT RECALL

MISS VICKIE’S CANADA POTATO CHIPS RECALL: Certain Miss Vickie’s brand Kettle Cooked Potato Chips made in Canada have been recalled due to the possible presence of pieces of glass. Details are available at https://www.inspection.gc.ca/food-recall-warnings-and-allergy-alerts/2020-11-03/eng/1604456061321/1604456069989?print=1#r04 or at 866-264-2056.

2020-11-20 Kosher Notice PDF

WILD PLANET ALBACORE WILD TUNA IN EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL was recently distributed by a local food pantry, and bears an MK in a circle with the word Kosher in Hebrew and English inside the circle, to the right of the K.

This is not the symbol of the MK of Montreal, and it is not the MK symbol listed on the Vaad Harabbonim’s Recommended Kosher Symbols card.

2020-10-22 KosherGram PDF

PREWASHED BRANDS OF ICEBERG GARDEN SALAD that normally bear OK Kosher certification, such as Dole, Kroger, Little Salad Bar [Aldi], and Marketside {Walmart], currently do not bear the OK symbol on some bags. This is due to increased infestation levels in some batches. This also occurs occasionally with coleslaw products. Every bag should be checked for the OK symbol.

GEFEN PEARL BARLEY with date code 07-20-22 has been found to have infestation in some bags, and must be checked before using. Several Kashrus agencies recommend that all barley (and in particular Yoshon brands) be checked prior to use.
Following are two options for checking:
Soaking Method:
1. Place all the barley you wish to use in a white bowl, and fill the bowl with water, a few inches over the top of the barley.
2. Allow to sit for 15-20 minutes. If insects are present, they will float to the top. If any do, repeat the process, and if no more are then found, the barley may be used.
Plate Method:
1. Place a small pile of barley – about two ounces at a time – on a white paper plate (not plastic, which creates a shine) with good overhead light that illuminates the plate.
2. Use a finger or a fork to drag a small amount of barley away from the pile, spreading that barley in a single layer. Visually inspect the spread-
apart barley, looking for webbing, black insects and white or tan worms between or under the kernels.
3. Repeat this until the entire pile has been checked. Then do the same for the rest of the barley in the package.

SEASON KIPPER SNACKS FILLETS OF HERRING was previously OU-P certified. Due to Covid-19 related challenges, this product was produced as non-Kosher and the OU has been removed. There may be OU and non-OU product available in the market simultaneously. Check each package for the OU symbol.

For the benefit of the consumer, we will repeat here two Season certification changes that were posted in August:

• Season Brisling Sardines and Season Sprats – Products of Latvia: These products were previously OU-P certified. Due to Covid- 19 related challenges, these products were produced as non-Kosher and the OU has been removed. There may be OU and non-OU product available in the market simultaneously. Check each package for the OU symbol.
• Season Sardines – Product of Morocco: This product was previously OU-P certified (Kosher for Pesach) year round, and Bishul Yisroel. Due to COVID-19 work and travel restrictions, this product will be certified as OU for year round use, but not Kosher for Pesach, and not Bishul Yisroel. (OU policy follows the widespread minhag that sardines do not require Bishul Yisroel.) Prior to Pesach, an additional quantity of OU-P product may be produced. There may be OU and OU-P product available in the market simultaneously. Check each package for its correct status.

FRIENDLY FARMS PUMPKIN SPICE WHIPPED DAIRY TOPPING and FRIENDLY FARMS MAPLE VANILLA WHIPPED DAIRY TOPPING (Limited Editions), sold at Aldi, contain cream and milk, but mistakenly bear only a plain OU without the D.

TRADER JOE’S CINNAMON ROLL (sliced, ready to eat) in some areas of the U.S. bears a KVH symbol, and mistakenly states Pareve. This contains butter and is certified KVH Dairy. In other areas (including Michigan), this product is made by a different, non-certified, manufacturer, and does not bear any Kashrus symbol.

CHEWY LEMONHEAD & FRIENDS FRUIT CANDY from Ferrara Candy Co. bears an unauthorized UMK. The only Ferrara candies that remain under UMK certification are Atomic Fireballs and Jawbreakers, and only when they bear the UMK symbol on each individual box.

EDEN WHOLE DRIED SHIITAKE MUSHROOMS: The OK has announced that this product now requires checking for insects, even when bearing the OK symbol, and that certification of this product will be suspended until further notice. For instructions on how to check, see https://www.ok.org/consumers/kosher-alerts/?alert_category=alert .

CLUB HOUSE CHEESE SAUCE MIX from McCormick Canada contains a non-Kosher ingredient and is not Kosher, even when mistakenly bearing the COR 94 DAIRY symbol.

QUAKER CEREALS UPDATE
• Cap’n Crunch Cereal – Regular (Original): The OU has informed us that although this cereal bears an OU-D, it is actually 100% pareve and is produced on pareve equipment. Years ago it was produced on dairy equipment and was labeled OU-D, and the packaging has not yet been updated.
• Quaker Oatmeal Squares Cereal in Brown Sugar, Cinnamon, Golden Maple and Honey Nut varieties with an OU-D
do not contain dairy ingredients, but are produced on dairy equipment.

2020-9-17 KosherGram PDF

FISH HEADS: [from New Square Kashrus Council]
• White fish: White fish heads are free of infestation concern.
• Salmon/Baby salmon: Salmon heads [even farm raised] are commonly infested with salmon lice (small brownish parasites ranging in size from approximately 1-3 cm).
· The entire gills must be removed. (It may be easier to first cut the head in half before cleaning).
· Rinse the head thoroughly with water while rubbing all surfaces of the head (inside and outside), including all cracks, crevices and folds, and under and around the tongue. Inspect the head to make sure it is clean.
One who wants to avoid the checking process may just rinse the head and cook the head in a separate pot, take a small piece from the flesh of the head, and visually inspect it before eating to make sure there is no foreign object on it.
• Carp: Carp heads may be infested with very small transparent insects called Argulus that are very hard to detect. There is no known method to clean infested carp heads properly, and they should not be used unless checked by an expert.

BLACK EYED PEAS are often infested and require careful checking. The following is the Star-K procedure for checking dried, canned or frozen black eyed peas, and applies even if the product bears Kashrus certification. (Note: All canned peas and beans always require Kashrus certification, for general Kashrus concerns.)
• Dried black eyed peas should first be boiled in water. After they have been fully cooked, turn off the flame and allow the peas to soak in the water for 2-3 hours. The peas will swell and the peel will become translucent. Then check as below.
• Canned or frozen black eyed peas may be checked straight out of the can/bag; there is no need to boil or soak.
• To check (all types): Take the peas and inspect for holes or dark-colored stains, as this may indicate an insect beneath the thin peel. If there is a dark spot on the peel, remove the thin skin and check if there is a cavity with a bug in it. (The black “eye” spot is not a sign of infestation. Similarly, orange colored stains on the surface are not signs of infestation; only dark or black stains are of concern.)
[Note: For those who prefer not to rely on checking, some Poskim advise that the Rosh Hashana simanim custom can be fulfilled without eating the item, by placing it on the table and looking at it.]

PAS YISROEL:
In addition to TRADER JOE’S brand of CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BABKA and HALF MOON COOKIES that are Pas Yisroel, as listed in the August KosherGram, Trader Joe’s new CINNAMON BROOKLYN BABKA variety with OU Pareve is also Pas Yisroel (not Yoshon).
Many BENTON’S CHOCOLATE CHIP and SANDWICH COOKIES at Aldi , which in the past were OU Pareve, have changed or are changing to OU-D. Check each package for its correct status. We are researching whether the OU-D indicates actual dairy or only dairy equipment. (They are not Pas Yisroel.)

We Wish All a K’siva v’Chasima Tova

2020-8-30 KosherGram PDF

PAS YISROEL: The K-COR wishes to remind the Kosher consumer of the accepted custom to be stringent on Pas Yisroel during Aseres Yemei T’shuva. Please be advised that many K-COR certified establishments produce or sell some bread and cake products that are not Pas Yisroel. Please ask the Mashgiach or call the K-COR office for details regarding specific establishments.
• The following establishments are totally Pas Yisroel: ZEMAN’S, BAKE STATION, PIZZA STOP, SPREADS BAGELS & CAFÉ, PRIME 10, SOUL CAFÉ RESTAURANT (not catering), KAPLAN CAKES, and YODELS ‘N MORE. At JERUSALEM PIZZA, the pizza and bagels are Pas Yisroel.
• In addition, MILANO BAKERY bread and rolls that bear the K-COR symbol are Pas Yisroel (glow-plug method), except for Milano Bread Sticks.
• TRADER JOE’S brand of CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BABKA and HALF MOON COOKIES that bear OU Pareve are Pas Yisroel. (They are no longer Yoshon.)
• FOOD FOR LIFE EZEKIEL SPROUTED GRAIN BREADS with the Kof-K symbol are Pas Yisroel. The Pocket Bread, however, is not Pas Yisroel.
• LILLY’S BABKA, RUGELACH and other cakes and cookies with an OU from Lilly’s Baking Company / Brooklyn Brands are Pas Yisroel. (The labels no longer need to state Pas Yisroel. They are not Yoshon.)
Due to an equipment failure, the following cookies that are normally OK certified as Pas Yisroel, are actually not Pas Yisroel:
• TRADER JOE’S Soft Baked Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies with a date code of NOV 04 20.
• MATT’S COOKIES of the following varieties with date codes between NOV 03 20 – NOV 26 20: Chocolate Chip, Double Chocolate Chip, Salted Caramel Walnut, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal Raisin, Cranberry Walnut, S’Mores, and Peanut Butter.

HONEY:
• Standard honey goes through a filtering process, which removes the non-Kosher bee parts. Even “raw and unfiltered” honey is usually strained, to remove the bee parts. However, some completely unprocessed honeys are neither filtered nor strained. If the label or the manufacturer states that the honey is not strained, or if bee parts are visible, that honey should be avoided or should be strained by the consumer.
• “Forest honey”, “Honeydew honey”, and “Beechwood honey” (or honey named after other types of trees such as Pine, Fir, Oak, etc.), generally refer to honey produced by bees that have consumed the non-Kosher excretions of aphids and scale insects left on trees (as opposed to standard honey produced from flower nectar). These are not considered Kosher according to some opinions, and should be avoided.
• “Royal Jelly” is a bee product that, unlike regular honey, is an actual secretion of the bee. Some Poskim therefore rule that it is not included in the permitted category of “honey”, and it should be avoided.

SEASON SARDINES CERTIFICATION CHANGES:
• Brisling Sardines and Sprats – Products of Latvia: These products were previously OU-P certified. Due to Covid-19 related challenges, these products were produced as non-Kosher and the OU has been removed. There may be OU and non-OU product available in the market simultaneously. Carefully check each package for the OU symbol.
• Sardines – Product of Morocco: This product was previously OU-P certified (Kosher for Pesach) year round, and Bishul Yisroel. Due to COVID-19 work and travel restrictions, this product will be certified as OU for year round use, but not Kosher for Pesach, and not Bishul Yisroel. (OU policy follows the widespread minhag that sardines do not require Bishul Yisroel.) Prior to Pesach, an additional quantity of OU-P product may be produced. There may be OU and OU-P product available in the market simultaneously. Check each package for its correct status.

OVK IN AN OVAL is the new Kashrus symbol of the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis. The former OV symbol (V in a circle) was replaced, because some non-Kosher products bear that symbol to indicate Vegan or Vegetarian. However, some Vaad Hoeir certified products are still using the old OV symbol. To verify whether or not an OV symbol on a particular product is a Kashrus symbol, contact the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis at 314-569-2770 or at information@ovkosher.org .
The OV symbol on some Campbell’s Slow Kettle Style and Well Yes! bisques and soups is used to indicate Vegan or Vegetarian. These are not Kosher products.

TOOTSIE DOTS ASSORTED FRUIT FLAVORED GUMDROPS in small Mini Boxes (“Mini-Dots”) do not bear an OU on their individual boxes, but they are nonetheless certified OU and pareve, even if the outer bag of the variety pack bears an OU-D. (The D is due to the other Tootsie candies in the variety pack.)

TIC TAC MINTS CANDIES are produced at many plants and in many flavors, and not all are Kosher. Each individual container should be checked for reliable certification (a small OU on the top left of the 1 oz. containers).
• Tic Tac Frosty Mint mints bears OU-D on some containers. The D is a mistake; this is pareve.
• Tic Tac Gum candies, which look similar to the mints candies and are sold in the same type of dispenser containers, are not Kosher and bear no Kosher marking.

GOLDENBERG’S PEANUT CHEWS – ORIGINAL DARK bears OU-D. The OU has advised us that although this product does not list dairy ingredients, it should be considered real dairy and should not be eaten after meat.

SPECIALLY SELECTED BELGIAN CHOCOLATE CHUNKS DARK 62% CACAO and SIMPLY NATURE ORGANIC SEA SALT POPCORN, both sold at Aldi, bear OK-D and do not list dairy ingredients, but say “may contain milk”. OK Kosher has advised us that these products are classified as D, not DE, because they may contain milk, and they should not be eaten after meat.

CAPE COD AGED WHITE CHEDDAR & SOUR CREAM POTATO CHIPS contains dairy ingredients and is certified OU-D, but mistakenly bears a plain OU without the D. [Source: Kashrut.com]

NICE! brand SWEET & SPICY TRAIL MIX sold at Walgreens is certified OU-D and contains dairy, as indicated in the ingredients and allergen statements. Some packages were mistakenly labeled with a plain OU without the D.

HUNT’S TOMATO SAUCE: Most Hunt’s Tomato Sauce products in cans are OK certified and bear the OK symbol on their label. Hunts Tomato Sauce in 7.4 oz., 14.8 oz. and 33.5 oz. cartons is not certified and does not bear the OK, and is not acceptable.

BIENA AGED WHITE CHEDDAR CHICKPEA PUFFS are not OU certified. Multi-packs containing .6 oz. bags were produced with an unauthorized OU symbol on the outer packaging. The individual bags do not bear the OU symbol. – No varieties of Chickpea Puffs are certified. Only Biena Chickpea Snacks are certified, when bearing the OU or OU-D symbol. – Note that the Sour Cream & Onion variety of Chickpea Snacks is dairy.

WILLIAMS SONOMA brand BLACK TRUFFLE RUB, PARMESAN HERB RUB, and PARMESAN, GARLIC AND HERBS MASHED POTATO SEASONING are not OU certified. Some containers bear an unauthorized OU symbol.

GUMMY BEARS distributed by DZA BRANDS bear an unauthorized cRc symbol on some packages. This product is not Kosher.

2020-7-29 KosherGram PDF

ICE CREAM and FROZEN YOGURT STORES often claim that they are Kosher and may post Kosher certification letters, which leads consumers to believe that the store and its products are under supervision. In fact, in most cases, the letters refer only to specific products or ingredients which are factory produced under supervision, and are certified only when in their original sealed packaging bearing Kosher marking. Once the unsupervised store opens the packaging, the certification is no longer valid. Unless the consumer verifies that there is actual on-site reliable Rabbinical supervision of the entire individual retail store, no ice cream, yogurt, syrups or toppings should be considered Kosher except for those in their original sealed containers bearing a reliable Kosher certification.

The following are some stores in our area that are not under supervision: TCBY, Haagen-Dazs, Menchie’s, and Oberweis.

It is always preferable to buy at fully supervised stores. Locally, soft serve Cholov Yisroel ice cream is available at Jerusalem Pizza. Hard pack Cholov Yisroel ice cream is available at Spreads Bagels & Café. Hard pack non-Cholov Yisroel ice cream and yogurt is available at Baskin-Robbins/Dunkin’ Donuts at 10 Mile & Greenfield in Oak Park (which is K-COR certified for all products). Packaged Cholov Yisroel ice cream is available at One Stop Kosher Food Market.

If it is necessary to purchase hard pack ice cream or yogurt from an unsupervised store, the consumer should request and see a sealed container before it is opened, and check for the Kosher certification mark on the container. In addition, the scoop should be thoroughly washed.

Soft serve ice cream or yogurt should not be purchased from an unsupervised store, because of the inability to verify that Kosher mix was put into the machine.

SAUCES CONTAINING FISH: Most Worcestershire sauces, and some barbecue and steak sauces, contain anchovies and state so in their ingredients listings. According to most Poskim, if the amount of anchovies in these sauces is at a ratio of 1:60 or less, they may be used with meat. Some Poskim, however, are stringent. Consult your Rav.

Reliably certified sauces that do not state “FISH” on the label next to the Kashrus symbol, do not contain more than 1/60 fish. Sauces that do contain more than 1/60 fish will always state FISH next to the symbol. However, some sauces that do not contain more than 1/60 fish will still state FISH next to their Kashrus symbol, for the benefit of those who wish to be stringent. Contact the certifying Kashrus agency to ascertain the fish level in a FISH marked sauce.

Following are the fish levels in some common sauces that are marked “OU FISH”:

• MORE THAN 1/60 – Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce [may not be used with meat]

• NOT MORE THAN 1/60 –
o Lea & Perrins Steak Sauce – in Traditional, Bold, and Signature varieties
o Great Value and ShopRite brands of Worcestershire sauces
o The following HEINZ products:
 Kansas City Style, Memphis Style, and Texas Style BBQ Sauces
 Campside Smoky Barbecue Sauce
 57 Steak Sauce Made with Lea & Perrins
 Zesty Cocktail Sauce

JIM BEAM BARBECUE SAUCE in Bold ‘N’ Spicy, Smoky Barrel and Southern Tang varieties in 18 oz. containers bear a Kof-K and contain anchovies at a level of not more than 1/60. — Please note that the small 6.5 oz. glass bottles of Jim Beam Barbecue Sauces are not certified Kosher and do not bear a Kof-K.

PLANTERS NUT PRODUCTS are acceptable only when bearing an OU symbol. Products bearing a K (which include most Planters Dry Roasted items and some Honey Roasted items) may contain gelatin, or may be produced on the same equipment as gelatin-containing products. Note that Planters Honey Roasted Cashews in the 3 oz. bag and 8.25 oz. can bear an OU, but the 1.5 oz. and 2 oz. size bags bear a K because they are not produced on an OU approved production line. Every package should be carefully checked for the OU symbol.

SIMPLY NATURE frozen ORGANIC BROCCOLI FLORETS and CHOPPED SPINACH, and SEASON’S CHOICE frozen BROCCOLI FLORETS and CALIFORNIA MEDLEY sold at Aldi, products of Mexico, are subject to concerns of infestation. (The Kosher symbol on them is not the MK of Montreal or Manchester.)

GLENFIDDICH 12 YEAR OLD SINGLE MALT SCOTCH WHISKEY mistakenly bears the “MK Mehadrin” logo of Manchester Beth Din on some bottles exported to the U.S. Since sherry casks are used in its aging process, this scotch does not qualify for Mehadrin standard, but instead is certified under North West Kosher (NWK), the Manchester Beth Din’s non-Mehadrin level of supervision. — Lists of recommended Glenfiddich whiskeys are available at https://www.crcweb.org/LiquorList.pdf [cRc] and https://www.star-k.org/resource/list/UTM1YXYE/Scotch [Star-K].

GERBER SITTER 2nd FOODS baby foods have OU certification on many, but not all, varieties. Check each product carefully for the OU symbol. Gerber Supported Sitter 1st Foods are not OU certified.

IZZIO SOURDOUGH BREAD: Due to a production issue, Izzio Sourdough bread in 24 oz. and 8-slice packages bearing a Scroll-K symbol, with lot codes 20 196 and 20 197 printed on the plastic bag closure, is Kosher but is not Pas Yisroel.
TOVAH brand frozen RICED BROCCOLI has been found to be infested, and should not be used.

MCCORMICK PERFECT PINCH SALAD SUPREME SEASONING bears an unauthorized OU on some labels. This product is not OU certified (and contains non-Kosher cheeses). — Note that McCormick Perfect Pinch Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper Seasoning is also not OU certified (and contains milk). Other Perfect Pinch seasonings varieties are OU certified when bearing the OU on the label.

TENLI brand GUMMY and CANDY PRODUCTS distributed by Classic Confections and Vidal bear an unauthorized Star-K symbol. These products are not certified by Star-K.

TANGY ZANGY SOUR FRUIT SLICES and TANGY ZANGY MILK CHOCOLATE SOUR WILDFRUIT SQUARES are not OU certified. Some bags bear an unauthorized OU symbol.

CVS brand DAIRY RELIEF LACTASE ENZYME SOFTGELS bear an unauthorized Star-K symbol. This product is not Kosher. CVS brand Dairy Relief Lactase Enzyme Caplets and Chewable Tablets are Star-K certified, when bearing the Star-K symbol.

INDIGO canned ARTICHOKES WITH STEMS (5 lb. can, a Foodservice item) is not OU certified. Some cans bear an unauthorized OU.
DOLE SLAWESOME KIT SALADS with dressing and seasoning are OK certified when bearing the OK symbol. Please note that the Fiesta Lime variety contains sour cream in the dressing, and therefore bears OK Dairy on both the outer bag and on the dressing/seasoning envelope inside.
J. HIGGS CORNIES CHILI CHEESE CORN CHIPS contains dairy ingredients and is certified Kof-K Dairy. Some packaging was incorrectly printed with a Kof-K Pareve symbol.

GREAT VALUE CREAMY COCONUT BARS sold at Walmart contains dairy, as indicated in the ingredients and allergen statements, and is certified OU Dairy. Some packaging mistakenly bears a plain OU symbol without the D.

DAVINCI GOURMET CLASSIC IRISH CREAM SYRUP contains dairy, as indicated in the allergen statement, and is certified Kof-K Dairy. Some packaging mistakenly states Kof-K Pareve. — A number of other DaVinci Syrups are also currently dairy, including Cake Batter, Caramel Pecan, English Toffee, Hawaiian Salted Caramel and others. The Pareve/Dairy status of these syrups sometimes changes. Always check every bottle for the Kof-K Pareve or Kof-K Dairy marking.

GIANT EAGLE DRIED ISLAND FRUIT MIX is certified OK Pareve and bears an OK symbol. However, due to a packaging error, some packages with a Best By date of 01-15-2001 actually contain Yogurt Fruit & Snack Mix that is Kosher Dairy. More information is available at https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/giant-eagle-recalls-dried-fruit-mix-due-undeclared-allergens or 800-553-2324.

PRODUCT WARNING

HAND SANITIZERS WARNING: The FDA has issued a new warning to avoid nearly 90 hand sanitizers, mostly from Mexico, that are labeled to contain ethanol (also known as ethyl alcohol), but that actually contain methanol (wood alcohol), which is toxic when absorbed through the skin and can be life-threatening when ingested. Details are available at https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-safety-and-availability/fda-updates-hand-sanitizers-methanol .